Steel Resolve…

17 May

Lately, I’ve been juggling stuff…

While we get ISBUs prepared for repurposing into Oil/Gas Labs, we’re taking time to get out of town, looking at property and dreaming about building our own “Off-Grid Fortress” later this year…

Now, apparently many of you think I live in a cave… So, I’ll post a pic of my porch to squash that ugly rumor…

It’s NOT a cave… it’s just a small depression in the granite rockface… :)

Actually, if you drive in any direction from where I’m typing this, you’ll find river crossings, buffaloes, bison, elk, deer, wild turkeys (the feathered kind, not the bottled kind… around here they drink Southern Comfort and Budweiser…) and enough small game to keep an Army moving for decades.

And, contrary to some “informed opinions”…

There are ISBU based off-grid homes and cabins scattered around ME, seemingly everywhere.

Some ask me WHY anyone would truck ISBUs up into the hills. There are even those who think that “those who do” are up to no good. But to those simpletons lacking imagination and even anything resembling a backbone or a pioneering spirit, I offer this as response;

Who wouldn’t want to wake up to this EVERY MORNING?

Take this view and then add some Corten Steel and you have strong, durable, high-speed housing for pennies…

These are simple constructs, folks. Most of the families that have accomplished this, have done it for pennies on the dollar, serioulsy. They bought a nice piece of land. They put in a well, a cistern  and a septic system…

And then, they started  to dream…

Sure, you have to have a piece of property that will allow truck access to deliver your boxes. That WILL help to define the property you seek. But once you’ve found that paradise, dropping those boxes on a prepared site (like Sonotube PILINGS!) allows you to build quickly and cheaply.

Here’s my “Idiots Guide to ISBU Building”; :)

All you need are boxes, a decent SSMR system -Standing Seam Metal Roof, and some toys to keep the place running smoothly.

Y0u know I’m a big fan of photovoltaic panels. Point them the right direction and then hook them to a battery bank and you have power.

It’s really quite simple.

There will be times when the sun don’t shine. That isn’t a deal-breaker. All you need is a back up generator to keep those batteries charged up and operating at peak efficiency…

It’s simple stuff. Find the land. Add water. Do some Site prep. Buy some toys…

And live in the mountains, surrounded by the very elements our forefathers faced daily, as they carved out this nation.  And while they did that, they drank water out of mountain springs and ate deer and elk that they culled out of their front yards…

It doesn’t get much better than that…

Pass the Bambi Burgers and the Iced Tea, huh?

One Response to “Steel Resolve…”

  1. Sheree Small (@imcease_10) June 18, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Wow I am intrigued! =) I’ve been searching for ways to build and own my own home for less money. I’m 26 with a family of 3 and wanting to grow, but first we must own our own home. I love the idea of the shipping container home. I come from an Indian Reservation up in Montana and homes are limited as other reservation are too. I think it would be awesome if they were to look into homes such as the ISBU’s. Anyway, I’m looking to build my own home without spending millions… =) Thank you for your articles. =)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,067 other followers