ECO PAK ISBU Hybrid Home – Update

14 Aug

I was recently contacted by Matthew Coates over at CDA.

A little while back, I showed you their ECO PAK – ISBU HYBRID home design, a design very similar to homes that we’ve built across the planet.

The design has a  LOT of merit and I encouraged you, my gentle readers, to take a look.

Matt sent me this message and I’m passing it on to you;

Here is the latest update on the Eco Pak designs.  We are on target to have a prototype completed by Spring 2013!

Thank you for all of the wonderful press you have given this new, conceptualized design which enables an almost ‘flat-pack’ home to be constructed almost anywhere on Earth.

The Eco Pak concept incorporates the container into the structure of the new home, building the house around this central box – in whichever way the client chooses (a dining room, kitchen etc.)

Find out more, HERE.

 

4 Responses to “ECO PAK ISBU Hybrid Home – Update”

  1. William Shepherd August 14, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Is this more for people of “means” or is it an affordable building option for those of us who are planning to build container homes because of cost savings in addition to the fact that we (I!!!) are addicted to containers?

    • Renaissance Ronin August 14, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      Hi Bill,

      What I want is for people to see what others are doing with ISBUs. That way you get more ideas about versatility. I personally like the “exoskeletal” idea, built around one of my CORE units (that hold a kitchen, laundry room, bathroom and shower room) in a single 20′ container. If you were somewhere where you had access to scrap steel, this concept (we’ve actually done this before a few times) can be quite effective, especially when dealing with difficult sites.

      I’m sure that Eco Pak isn’t going to be “cheap” (I haven’t seen production forecasts yet) but it can indeed be an inspiration for those who can’t reach the budget required to go with a team like Matthew’s… You COULD do this yourself.

      The question then becomes; Do YOU want to?…

      … or do you want someone else to do it?

      If you’re not looking to do the work yourself, looking for a “package” and can afford the build price. Eco Pak then has real merit.

      RR

  2. William Shepherd August 14, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    This is all true. I agree that it is a great idea and could be made affordable. It does still present one huge problem for me in particular (your idea of insulating the outside is an issue for me as well), This plan hides that container itself. I, personally, love the look of the containers. I want that Corten steel finish to be seen as I feel it is a very interesting detail to the home. The contrast between the hard, unnatural lines outside contrast well with the natural environment as well as what I have planned for my interior space (a living wall, a cob fireplace with built in wood fired oven, molded concrete floors, and more.

    I want people to pull up and “Wow. The crazy guy actually built an 18th century home inside a 21st century container!”. My friends already think I am nuts and my credit union proudly announced they do not do builder loans. Everyone else just goes “What? I dont get it.” At least the woman understands my desire to place a goldfish pond below the living wall. She says its very Asian inspired. Considering we have a daughter adopted from China, I think this is a good thing.

  3. adellbarnes August 22, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    Awesome design! Seems more and more manageable every time I visit.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,177 other followers