It’s almost Spring… at least… HERE.

18 Mar

Many readers know I just spent a bunch of time time “down south”…

No! Not “the Dirty Dirty”, or Miami… but (gasp!) Colorado.

It’s “Horse Country”.  And, I own horses. As I drove around Colorado and Wyoming in “Places Equestrian”… it gave me pause to think my own “horse housing dilemma”…

Okay, admittedly, I have to deal with my “elk dilemma” first. I can’t turn around lately without having to chase them out of the yard. Some St Patty’s Day. No cold beer. No Corned Beef. Just “Elk Chasing” in the snow! Bah!

Elk1

Elk8

Elk12

For all the elk on the property, you’d think we were raising the darn things. :)

I guess I’ll just have to buy another freezer…

You see, we’re building a “Sustainability Center”. No, not one of those “Vegan Retreats”, or “Castaway Communes”…. but a real “grass roots” place where we can try new techniques, teach new skills and live like most of our grandparents did… by using our hands and our backs. And every night, we’ll be feasting on grass fed beef, local venison or tasty elk chased with a good glass or two of RED!  Yum! :)

But I was talking about horses;

In Montana, you turn horses out to graze. Hey, I mean… HAY and grass are all over the place. While most of the country laments hard times, we’re usually hip deep in hay and grass for our livestock to graze on. But in winter, the “graze” is covered in several feet of snow. So, you pull horses in to feed them. That means “feeding stalls” so that you can control your hay.

So, I gotta build something.

What do you get when you take a pair of 40 or 48” ISBUs, a quartet of 20′ ISBUs, a pair of truck doors and enough SIPs (Structural Insulated Panels) to build a proverbial battleship?

20 horse Barn Elevation Concept

You get a “double sided” “H-Shaped” Barn big enough to feed 20-24 horses. You also get several tons of hay storage and a tack room large enough to make a Cavalry Officer giddy…

Better still, it’s all on one level with no ladders or lofts to navigate. When you’re a “Senior Citizen”, that’s important. :)

Yep, it’s official. I got my AARP membership card in the mail. Oy. I’m doomed! LOL!

And, because this new set of barns will be made of “Steel and SIPs”, they aren’t not gonna get their butts kicked by most Montana Storms…

In fact, we’ll use that roof plane to harvest rainwater and snow melt.

You can relax, though. I won’t be wearing any “White Hats” or riding any “White Chargers” any time soon… Black hats and big black horses suit me just fine! LOL!

Stay tuned. This should be fun.

RR AvatarRelated articles

One Response to “It’s almost Spring… at least… HERE.”

  1. texarcana2002 March 18, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Wwelcome to the horde of old farts, ya old fart! 

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy S™III, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,137 other followers