I’m “Banned for Life” by “Doityourself.com”

21 Jul

You’re not going to believe this…

I’m getting email from media companies now, wanting to take a look at what my family is doing, in South Mississippi.

One well-known cable network company has even started doing a “background” piece on our project (building a home out of recycled materials and “reclaimed” 40′ shipping containers). They’re spending some time with us now, so that when we break ground they can jump all over it. But, you know what? I don’t care. I’m hoping that someone follows through in a big way, so that everyone can see that you can find affordable housing, if you “think out of the box.” I want people to see this. Call it “my mission.”

Recently, I went to “doityourself.com,” to post a question to the “Green Center” forums, about using LED lighting in my new “alternative housing” home. The forum advertises (rather implies) itself as “”the leading independent home improvement and repair website,” a mecca for green innovation, and breakthroughs…

(the “mecca” bit is my words, certainly not theirs, and certainly not applicable, based on what I’ve seen so far…)

Where I live, there are still thousands of families out of their homes, after Katrina ate us alive. With the flooding of the Mississippi, thousands more will find themselves in the same predicament that we’re in. Many of us are still waiting on insurance companies to do the right thing, so we “look out of the box,” to find solutions to our problems, all by our “onesies.”

As most of you know, I’m building a “green home” out of rather “unconventional” construction components on a rather severe budget, so I wanted to know if any of those users had actually “used LEDs to illluminate their homes.” And if they had, I wanted to know how it worked…

My new house is going to be “solar panel” (photovoltaic) equipped, to generate electricity. LEDs are a natural compliment, because they seem to use very little energy, and provide a great source of lighting and illumination.

Alas, when you hear “green,” you have to think about costs. Every time we see these “breakthroughs” on cable, they’re accompanied by conversations about how expensive this new technology is.

I’m not going to “evangelize” here, but it seems that a forum aimed at building “green” would welcome examinations of green practices, examples and solutions…

In their Content Posting Policy, they state;

DoItYourself.com allows visitors to post or submit ratings, reviews, comments, suggestions, ideas, questions, answers, diagrams, photographs, other information and communications. This content cannot be illegal, obscene, threatening, defamatory, invasive of privacy, infringing on intellectual property rights, or otherwise injurious to third parties or objectionable and does not consist of or contain software viruses or
links to sites spreading the same.

DoItYourself.com is not to be used for posting political campaigns, commercial solicitations, chain letters, mass mailings, or any form of “spam.” You may not use a false e-mail address, impersonate any person or entity, or otherwise mislead as to the origin of any content.”

So, I posted my questions, provided what information I could, and waited…

Hey, I’d posted there once before, asking for help estimating masonry costs. That went nowhere. by the way. Not one response.  So, I thought I’d try again. Surely somebody knew something about LEDs, and was willing to share the info.

I wasn’t trolling for profits, or glory… I don’t have a single ad, or subscription area, on my blog. I still haven’t figured out how to build the “RSS” box, for cryin out loud… LOL!

I was searching in earnest for an answer, a solution that might help my family.

I figured that once the forum users knew the scope of my project, they could make suggestions, and help me get my family back into a safe house, where we, and every other family in America, belong.

Today, in my email, I get this message from “doityourself.com;”

You have received a new private message at DoItYourself.com Community Forums from HotinOKC, entitled “You have received an infraction at DoItYourself.com Community Forums”.

To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:
http://forum.doityourself.com/private.php

This is the message that was sent:

***************

You have received an infraction at DoItYourself.com Community Forums.

http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?p=1393232#post1393232

Reason: Advertising/Soliciting In Forums, Emails or PM’s
——-
We do not except advertising/soliciting or blogging here in the website.

If you would like to contribute information to our readers, please do so without redirecting them to a website.
——-

This infraction is worth 12 point(s) and may result in restricted access until it expires.  Serious infractions will never expire.

All the best,
DoItYourself.com Community Forums

——

Again, please do not reply to this email. You must go to the following page to reply to this private message:

http://forum.doityourself.com/private.php

All the best,
DoItYourself.com Community Forums

***************

So, I go to “doityourself.com” and log into my account…

Imagine my shock, when I get this message;

You have been banned for the following reason:
blogging/advertising

Date the ban will be lifted: Never

****************

Wow! Holy Housing, Batman! I guess I committed a “Forum Felony.” What was I thinking? I hardly saw what I was doing as “advertising.” Advertising for what? Blog Stats? You’ve got to be kidding…

So, I sent this message to the “Green” Forum Administrator;

[Message Begins]

Greetings,

I recently posted questions to the Green Forums (2 of them), to inquire about LED lighting for an “Alternative Housing” project my _family_ is building.

I provided a link to my blog (because 1000 characters isn’t enough to really describe my project), so that people could actually see what I’m doing, so that they could help me find a solution to my “problem.”

It wasn’t for “profit, fame, or glory.”

It was to find an answer, and show people that Green can be achieved by the common man, without architects, or engineers, or huge bank accounts.

Isn’t banning me for life a little severe, in this case? I mean really…

I’d think that someone who was demonstrating your “green principles’ by actually doing it, and trying to incorporate even more “green” into the design and build would  be appreciated here.

Consider this a request for an “appeal.”

I’m looking forward to your response…

*************

[message ends]

Can you believe that? You’d think they were gonna actually lose revenue, by having people learn about my “green” project.

Talk about over-reacting…

Is it any wonder that moving forward (as a citizen, and not a corporation) is so difficult?

And “HotinOKC” if you’re reading this, you’re an idiot. If you’d followed up, and actually used your head, you’d have seen firsthand, that what I’m doing might actually help someone else. Talk about “knee-jerk…”

If this “Banned for Life” holds up, as I start getting actual local, regional, and national media attention, I’m going to make sure that I list resources that helped, and those who “hindered,” so that the public knows who they can trust. Bet on it.

(A footnote here: I just checked again, because it’s been a few days. As of July 22, 7pm, No lift of the ban, and no response from any email I’ve sent asking for “mediation.”)

Addendu-du-du-du-dum… July 24th – One of my pals (Ashish) just helped me figure out why wordpress was puking when I tried to enable my RSS feature. And, he built me a cool icon, too! So, I’m RSS’ing with the best of them… in style! Thanks Ashish!

Stay tuned…

6 Responses to “I’m “Banned for Life” by “Doityourself.com””

  1. chirax July 21, 2008 at 11:59 pm #

    If your building of a “green home” is really good and I am sure it it better vehicle to communicate you idea to a very large audience is Ted.com.

    And you are right about this typical of any “Big Corporation/Website” to follow the processes with out even understanding the meaning behind them. What’s really irritating is they forget its the same people who make them what they are.

  2. renaissanceronin July 22, 2008 at 8:06 am #

    Chirax: Thanks for the pointer to Ted.com. I’ll check it out!
    I was just amazed that “doityourself.com” would harbor such a narrow view, of a project that seemed right up their alley. But, you can’t ever figure out marketing types, pretending to be concerned corporations… It’s all about advertising, I guess…
    I’ll look for advise elsewhere, and make sure that other people know why. I’ll have a “national voice” soon…
    Thanks for stopping by!
    RR

  3. Ashish July 23, 2008 at 12:40 am #

    My response to the forum would have been –

    Dear Doityourself.com

    Thanks for being a bunch of *censored*

    Love
    RR

    😛

    I can help you in one thing though, show you how to put in an RSS box! Here’s how –
    1. Go to your Dashboard -> Design -> Widgets
    2. ADD a Text widget on your sidebar.
    3. Create a link for your feed [ your feed is https://renaissanceronin.wordpress.com/feed/ ]
    4. WordPress.com has some cool, colourful feed icons to use but if you need something more stylish [something like Poonam’s feed icon] then here are some – RSS1, RSS2, RSS3, RSS5 made by yours truly. Note all of them will look good on the theme and I’ve forgotten which is Transparent and which is not. You’ll have to check…
    5. Your final code should be something like [a href=”YOUR FEED URL”] [img src=”THE FEED ICON URL”] [/a] (You know what [ stands for right?)
    6. Paste it in your textbox widget and click Add Widget again. Drag the widget to the top [or whereever you prefer] of your sidebar. Save your changes to the Sidebar and you are DONE!!!!!

  4. renaissanceronin July 23, 2008 at 7:08 am #

    Ashish: Yeah, I’d give them the finger, if I could figure out how to do it with enough flair! LOL!
    As for the RSS code, every time I try it, I get source code displayed (and not the icon and properties) in my widget.
    Sounds like a disease; “I got text in me widget, I do! Argh!”
    I’m starting to think it’s something in this “theme” I’m using, that doesn’t like me? Me, of all people! I mean, what’s not to like? Hmmm?
    Thanks bud, for your help. Good to see you!
    Gotta go, I have crabs to boil… LOL!
    RR

  5. Sandy Kron December 14, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    I just got banned also, and I don’t even know what I did wrong. I can’t log back in to view what they say is posted to the right of every forum.
    I try to help other people out all the time on these forums. I have pictures on my website that would help other people, and instead of taking the time of posting many pictures, they can see my projects and read how I did it.
    So, Do-It-Yourself can kiss my projects good-by. I will definitely post this information on my blog.
    Thanks for listening.
    Sandy

  6. Fouquieria June 9, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    I just registered, introduced myself and linked to pics of my yard and got banned for life at doityourself.com.

    Their loss.

Comments are closed.