Oops, I did it again…

19 Aug

Okay, so it’s happened again…

No! This is not a public address message from the “Britney Spears does it again” Early Warning system…

But… Man, this is getting to be a habit. I must be doing something right!

First, DIY goes after me. Then, Paris Hilton badmouths me. And now, this…

I’m gonna have to start a “Banned In Biloxi” blog… what a bunch of rubes…

A while back, one of my readers pointed me at a yahoo group, that he thought I might be interested in. So, like a good little Lemming, I took off, and dropped by to see how they fared. I’m not gonna name names, because frankly, I’m not going to give the group any credit, or publicity, here.

For the most part, the group is about “organic architecture,” and there are some interesting comments about construction practices I’m also currently employing, to build my own “alternative construction” home. We had things in common. A few of the contributors to that group are really quite S-M-A-R-T!

So, like an idiot, I posted a message saying that I was actually building a container house, and welcomed opinions. Now, I know that when you do this, you open yourself up to conflict, and it seems I did exactly that.

> Subject: Our Shipping Container Home in the South = Katrina Solution!
>
>
> Hey Campers,
>
> I’m amazed at the depths of the readership here. I found you by
> accident, and I only wish that I’d had this “accident” sooner!
> My family is building a Shipping Container home in Mississippi, to
> provide a solution to our “Katrina ate my house” dilemma. We’re also
> including some recycled building components, ala aircraft hangar
> steel…
> We’re using grants, an endowment, and even “the media” to get it done.
> I’d love it if you guys would take a look, and give me your opinions. I
> figure that “Good, Bad, or even Obscene” I’ll learn something from you!
> And, we’re sharing everything we learn along the way, so that other
> people can duplicate our efforts, without some of the pitfalls we’ve
> suffered…
> You can find our blog at: https://renaissanceronin.wordpress.com
> I truly hope to see you there! You guys (and gals) are amazing and
> inspiring…
>
> RR

One of their readers got on my blog, and evidently became offended because I’m too “political.” And, he/she? said so, on that group forum, in a manner that was meant to “chastise me,” in front of the group.

We all know the type, right? I mean, really. If he/she was offended, he/she should have said so, on MY blog, since that’s where the “offense” took place. But instead, he/she decided to go after me, on his/her home turf.

I hate to be so gender “ambiguous,” but with some “user names” it’s just hard to tell gender. Ya know?

> In blah-blah-blah@yahoogroups.com, “So and so” <SOS@…> wrote:
>
> You had my attention until your blog got political.  Please bear in mind not
> everyone has the same political view you do.  If you want feedback, it’s
> best to start out inoffensively.
>
> JMPO
>
> So and so…

Okay, he/she didn’t malign my character, or call me names. I simply don’t agree with WHERE he /she posted this, as it will (and was designed, I’m sure) to color my participation in their “group…”

So, I posted this reply:

> Hmmm…
> While it’s quite possible that some people don’t share my views, both
> social and political, they don’t live in my house, either.
> Frankly, it’s hard for me to believe that the people we elect to
> “serve” us, seem to have forgotten us. And that has a trickle-down
> effect, say… into our day-to-day lives.
> My blog is “Politically mild” compared to some. If it offends you, I
> suggest that you change the channel. The point of my blog is to teach
> people to look for solutions in places not normally searched, and
> expose the places where things need to be done, and that begins with
> dialog.
> After all, it’s not YOUR blog, it’s MY blog.
> Thanks for your advise.
>

Today (Aug 18th) I get an email from the moderator of the group, saying that my “message is not approved.”

So, readers of the group can offer up anything they want, but the “target” can’t reply.

And, that really pisses me off!

I’m really not into the “we can censor you, if you dare disagree with us” tribe. I figure that as long as you are respectful, don’t swear, and don’t attack someone, you get the right to communicate with the other kids. All you have to do is “play nice.” And, I thought I had.

Evidently not. So, I fired this reply off to the moderator of the group, who, by the way is evidently a bookseller in the “building books” category. So, now I’m being “censored” by a bookseller…

That’s the most disturbing thing. How ironic!

Here’s the message I sent;

Dear moderator;

Okay, so you disallowed my reply to [So and so], who says that my blog is “too political,” and implies that it’s “offensive.”

This entire incident isn’t about anything that was posted on your group, it’s about an opinion of  my BLOG, off-site.

First, if he had issue, he should have made it on my blog, not here.

Second, I should have been allowed to reply, to rebut, and declare my intentions.There was nothing in my reply that should have earmarked it for deletion. It wasn’t impolite, or obscene.

And I’ll point out that I’m not spending 10 years throwing house plans up, posting them onto a group, or trying to garner attention to myself for sheer “entertainment and spectator” value. I’ve read [So and so’s] blog/web site. I’m actually “doing” it. Right now. And showing others how to do it, as well. Housing families is the only thing I care about. In some towns in America, it’s not just “idealistic talk.” It’s life or death.

A few of my readers recommended your group to me, as a resource. But, if it’s going to be so obviously “one-sided,”  I have no wish to participate.

A “serious” read of my blog will provide many with the ability to begin experiments in alternative  housing, themselves. The point of the blog is the sharing of information. And sometimes, unfortunately, that’s political.

And the last time I checked, this nation was built on free speech, and the sharing of information.

Thanks for demonstrating the intentions of your group to me. Kindly remove me from your membership, and delete my posts.

RR

The trouble it seems, dear readers, is that unless you’re a part of a “tribe,” and unless you see things just like they do, you don’t get any play… and that is one myth that is going to fall, I guarantee… Because that’s un-American… And I hate “crybabies…”

So now there’s another URL destined for the “You can kiss my shiny Jewish Heinie!” file…

This just in:

This came in my Gmail account today, from the moderator of the group in question;

[message begins]

“Please do not be offended- as a part time moderator I have the clout to nip in the bud any political rants I see coming.

I have refused your email and given notice to cease and desist to [name deleted] also. so you both have been cropped at the knees.

Please dont leave the group.. you DO have lots to contribute ( I cant take you off, you must remove yourself if you really want to go)

But I stand by my decision to stop  a  messy time wasting political argument from many members which takes us all off track.

Please post your complaint directly to the person who wroite it. ([name delted] is female)

and please return to tell us all more.. I find it very intersting, and have read a lot of your blog.

You are a proud and enthisiastic person..as are many here– keep that energy coming….

thanks

[name deleted]

[message concludes]

Dear moderator,

Thanks for replying.

I don’t see my rebuttal to an obvious attack of an off-site blog, a “political rant.” Far from it, I pointed out that the solution was simple. Don’t go there. If you have “thin skin” I am definitely the “wrong read” for you…

My blog really isn’t “political.” I rant for a line or two, once in a while, but unless the post is about a hearing I attended, or a session I was subpoenaed to testify at, I don’t give them the time of day. I have too much to care about, without wasting time on people who don’t care about my family, yet are paid to do exactly that.

And unfortunately, it’s the politicians who spent more time posing for cameras, than problem solving for their constituents, that got us into this mess. That’s certainly one of the undertones for my blog, but the theme is overtly “architecture,”  and “recovery.” The political “ratio” is actually quite small. In fact, if my blog was a pie chart, that sliver of pie would just piss you off, and you’d at least demand seconds… LOL!

I can’t change the way politicians think or even vote, but I can try to make sure they don’t get re-elected. And, I can’t build a home for every family that deserves one, as much as I’d like to, but I can sure teach you how to do it yourself.

I have too much on my plate, to get involved in petty squabbles about this… So, my “resignation” stands. If I want “drama,” I’ll turn on a soap opera…

I’m used to going it alone. At least all those years in third world countries prepared me for something… If you’ve read my blog, you know that I’m not afraid to say what must be said, and I’m not afraid to take the heat for it… In the end, it’s all about where my wife and child lay their heads at night… safe, secure, and comfortable.

Everything else is just “collateral damage.”

And THAT’S the rest of the story…

Stay tuned…

4 Responses to “Oops, I did it again…”

  1. Ashish August 22, 2008 at 2:23 am #

    How can you be unpolitical when you claim to be the daddy of the [unproven] Emperor of the world. Although of course that claim has yet to be proven seeing as THE [future] Emperor of the World, the Geek Wrestler still holds the title. 😛

  2. renaissanceronin August 22, 2008 at 2:39 am #

    Ashish: I’m the power behind the throne…
    I guarantee I’m his daddy, bud. No “claimin’ about it.
    And we don’t recognize no stinkin’ provinces ruled by geeky wrestlers… That’s undignified. LOL!
    How do you like the new banner?

  3. Ashish August 22, 2008 at 11:48 pm #

    The new banner looks cool. Beyond cool! 8)

  4. sandrar September 10, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Comments are closed.