Scheduled Photovoltaics Post Called on Account of Fay!

23 Aug

Hey Campers,

It looks like we’re gonna get some torrential rain, in a few hours!

For those of you following along, I’d planned to explain the “Ins and Outs of Photovoltaics” today (I even had most of it already prepared!), but instead, I’m shoveling dirt, and filling sand bags! ARGH!

The National News guys are telling us that Tropical Storm Fay is moving due west, and that means it’s headed right for us. The local news guys are saying that they predict 50+ mile an hour winds (sustained), and we’re gonna get about 6+” of water. Now, we should be rejoicing, because water is in short supply, but… Frankly, these local weather guys can’t “predict” themselves out of a paper bag. We’ll just prepare, to be on the safe side, and then wait and see.

So, we’ll get some wind, and lose a few tree branches, and it also means we’re gonna get some flooding. Living right off the beach means “lowlands.” In fact, this entire county is considered “lowlands,”  and in the established “flood plain.” And that means I have to build a barricade to keep the water out of my apartment. Oy Vay! I wonder where I mount the machine guns? Because we all know that a barricade isn’t any good without heavy weapons to back it up!

Fay seems to be staying together so far, and it’s causing havoc in Central Florida right now, so maybe it’ll spin itself out before it gets here, later today. Where’s that “Container House,” when I need it? This would be a fun test of the principles! LOL!

I just looked at the National Weather, and here’s what it looks like, just after 11am…

They’re still saying that it’s moving due west, and it’ll hug the coastline. So, I’m off to fill sandbags, and play in the dirt. If nothing else, it beats a day at the gym! (Like I really even GO to the gym, in the first place!) LOL!

Everything electronic will get unplugged before the storm arrives, because lightning here is incredibly intense in storms like this. Why take chances, huh? I’ll check in tomorrow, after the storm passes…

Until then, take care, and play nice!

Ronin

UPDATE:

Saturday August, 23 @ 2:30pm;

The National Weather Service is stirring the pot, folks!

Now, we’re under a Flash Flood Warning… This is gonna piss off the neighbors…

I’m seeing this on the television every five minutes;

TROPICAL RAINS ASSOCIATED WITH FAY… OFTEN IN BANDS OF HEAVIER DOWNPOURS… WILL BE ENTERING THE MISSISSIPPI COASTAL COUNTIES BY EARLY SATURDAY EVENING AND INTO LOUISIANA ON SUNDAY… CONTINUING INTO MONDAY NIGHT. STORM TOTAL RAINFALL OVER A SEVERAL DAY PERIOD MAY REACH 6 TO 10 INCHES WITH LOCALLY HIGHER AMOUNTS OF 15 INCHES.

Like we never saw a little rain before! Okay, we get it. It’s gonna get wet. Local weather guys are saying it should start raining here in a few hours, as the leading bands of precipitation start reaching out to “touch someone…” We’re supposed to expect it to be “severe.” We’ll see…

Now where did I put my “water wings?”

UPDATE:

Sunday, August 24, 11am;

What a “let-down.”

I hate women that just dress up all provocative, and then tease you!

Tropical Storm Fay didn’t do squat around here. It seems that we were actually in the center of rotation, and like being in the eye of a hurricane, we didn’t get anything substantial.

Drat! No looters to shoot, no floodwaters to surf, hell, not even a chance to fish outta the front door! Damn! What a waste. I lost a perfectly good day blogging, because this was supposed to be another “super storm!” I hate weathermen. Bunch of Liars! LOL!

It’s barely raining now, but supposedly there’s more precipitation to come in the next 24 hours, as the back half of Fay passes through. And I’m watching the news, but we haven’t had any significant damage in my area. In fact, Harrison County hasn’t reported any real damage at all. No power outages, no nothing.


So, we’re just taking it easy. We’ve been snuggled up in our apartment, with the front door open just far enough for us to hear the rain dripping off the roof. At least it’s cooling off the place! And, as I’d gotten the “hurricane candles” out, we’re filling the house with “warm pumpkin and apple spice,” as the candles burn and warm up the place. So, the neighbors will think we’re baking pies! That should make them crazy! LOL! All in all, it’s been fairly relaxing and pretty cool.

All that shoveling for nothing… (Grumble, mumble, snort!)

2 Responses to “Scheduled Photovoltaics Post Called on Account of Fay!”

  1. Jen Mathis October 19, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    Possible Stupid Question Alert:

    Would one have to get up on the roof and remove all photovoltaics, prior to a hurricane’s arrival?

    Would stored power in the batteries still be available afterward?

    …having flashbacks to Ike now. Bleah.

    • renaissanceronin October 19, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

      Hi Jen,

      If I’m in the path of a hurricane, and I know that I’m in the “strike zone,” I’m removing the panels.

      I’ll need them after the storm, if I want anything that resembles power, because odds are that the grid will be down.

      During the storm, I’ll conserve as much energy as possible, cutting off and even unplugging everything not necessary to life functions.

      After the storm, I’ll assess the damages, and then reinstall and reconnect the power.

      Ronin

Comments are closed.