Gustav goes “Gutless?”

1 Sep

Rain rain, go away…

Well, we’re still here.

It appears that the hurricane, although not over with, is falling apart. And that’s a good thing. It’s already several miles inland, and spinning down. The last I heard, it was a weak Cat 1 storm, now. I’m just relieved that it wasn’t a “Katrina event,” with the aftermath being years of frustration and hollow sounding rhetoric, aimed at placating hurricane victims.

There’s definitely gonna be some clean-up, but it looks like it’s gonna go a lot faster than the last time.

The highway that parallels my house, Highway 90, was under water for a while, and the beach is now a “lagoon.” There are some tree branches down, but Katrina cut most of our dead wood for us, and it’s not nearly as bad.

The MDOT guys are saying; “Highway 90 in Harrison County is closed at this time due to storm surge. We urge motorists to please avoid the area.”

The ocean ain’t supposed to be on the street… Right?

I walked down to the beach (it’s about 1/4 mile from my house) and it’s pretty clean, as hurricanes go. There are some downed power lines, and the cable company is gonna have it’s hands full, but we’re not in bad shape.

The new construction along the beach is holding it’s own from what I can see. There’s a condo project going in on the corner, and it’s several stories tall, and I didn’t see one broken window, or glass door. (I can’t see the “beachside elevation” as it’s a trek across open water to get anywhere near seeing it.) Not gonna happen. You’ll have to use your imagination.

I’m amazed at how empty the town is. Everybody ran for cover. Here’s their theme song;

It was interesting walking against the headwinds (the winds are still gusting to 90mph every once in a while), two steps forward, and three steps back, but I figure it’s just a part of the “Gustav Gym” plan…

It’s raining pretty hard, and it actually hurts when it hits your skin, but it’s starting to slow down. We’ll have bands of this rain for hours yet, and the winds will accompany it, like “Bonzo” (Jon Bonham of Led Zeppelin) beating out a tune for Robert Plant.

I was gonna take some photographs, but the rain is still coming down so hard I don’t want to risk my digital camera. My wife would kill me if we couldn’t take our “mandatory 50 pictures a day” of the “Emperor of the New World.”

(Now, we do know a “poser” in India, who claims to be the “Emperor of the World,” but we know for a fact the only throne he has, is in his bathroom. At least I think it is. To hear him talk, I’m not even sure he has indoor plumbing…) LOL!

BTW: I think we’re giving Joshua a complex. Whenever he hears the camera start up, he covers his face with his hands… LOL!

The storm isn’t really affecting Joshua, much. In fact, we stand in front of the storm door, and he’s fascinated just looking outside at the wind and rain. The trees moving back and forth probably have something to do with it, as well…

Right now, he’s sleeping, and probably dreaming up more ways to torment Dad.

There are several tornadoes tearing things up, right now. I guess Gustav figured out he wasn’t gonna leave a real terrible mark, so he brought friends to help him add to the scorecard. I didn’t see any waterspouts, but there are tornadoes reported in my immediate area, and there is a couple of them racing inland, all across the counties here…

Did you hear this?

Michelle Malkin (syndicated columnist) said this;

Per Gov. Bobby Jindal’s order at 4am this morning: “As directed by Governor Jindal, Louisiana State Police will initiate contraflow at 4:00 AM Sunday morning. For the first time in history, the entire Louisiana coastal population will be evacuated due to the impending threat of Hurricane Gustav.”

We know who won’t be praying for their success and safety: tolerant, peaceful liberals wishing the worst on Republicans in Gustav’s path and laughing about the possibility of grave destruction.

(snip)

God is not on your side, gloating sleazeballs.

Can you believe that? What an idiot! Man, what a “hater!” Some people will say anything to get attention, I guess…

There are over 50,000 families without power in the lower six counties of Pearl River, Stone, George, Hancock, Harrison and Jackson counties, so far, according to the news I just heard.

And since the power is flickering again, and the rain and winds are picking up, I suspect I’m about to join them.  I can just barely see the road from here (it’s about 100 yards away). So, since this is the third time I’ve tried to get this post up, what you see, is what you get…

Stay tuned!

6 Responses to “Gustav goes “Gutless?””

  1. MJ September 2, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    Nasty! Hope you got through it all okay. We just got a bunch of rain from it, but not much else.

  2. renaissanceronin September 2, 2008 at 11:23 am #

    Yeah, I’m kinda bummed out about it…

    I didn’t even get to take my longboard (surf board) outta storage. I’ve been hauling this thing around since I lived in California! We NEVER get surf in the Gulf! Drat!

    And I didn’t get to shoot any looters, or nothin!

    I didn’t even get to “hurricane test” my taser! What a pitiful storm… LOL!

    Actually, it’s still raining pretty good, and we’ve got a tornado or two, but my wife gets madder than this storm got… al least here. Louisiana has a mess to clean up though…

    I’ll just wait for the next one…

    Back to “life as normal,” pissing people off while building my house out of shipping containers!

    [Picture Ronin putting machine guns back in closet…]

    Ah jeez…

  3. MJ September 2, 2008 at 3:16 pm #

    That is a bit disappointing I suppose.

    Oh and no need to explain the longboard, being a past shortboarder and Californian myself… of course, here smack in the middle of GA, there isn’t much surf to speak of…

    Glad you got through okay. Sorry you didn’t get to rid the world of any scum…

  4. renaissanceronin September 2, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    Hey MJ,

    Yeah, I’m still a little bit bummed. I figured at the least, I’d get to shoot a couple of the crack dealers that prowl my neighborhood…

    [picture Ronin sadly shaking head…]

    And a buddy called me from Huntington Beach, and asked me if I’d gotten any “wave action.” I wanted to reach thru the phone line that strangle him! Talk about rubbing it in! LOL!

    I do remember heading for Mexico (from OC) when the big storms blew in, to surf until we passed out… (Well, it was usually the drinking after the surfing, but don’t tell anyone…)

    But, load up that shortie, and head for the shore, kiddo. You got one coming your way, and it looks like you might get a curl or two. It looks like Hanna might give you a wave or three…

    BTW: Ronin is much too manly for a short board, by about 100 pounds! Nothing looks funnier than a fat, bald guy on a 6′ triple skegged Plank ‘O’ Death! LOL!

  5. MJ September 3, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    *shaking off image of Ronin on short board*

    Oh, how I miss eating at Ruby’s on the Huntington pier!

    We’re nailing everything down right now waiting for the impending doom here in GA. But I’m pretty far inland, so I’m just predicting a lot of rain and noise. I’m sure I will be hiding away some family from Florida though (ugh).

  6. renaissanceronin September 3, 2008 at 4:54 pm #

    Ah, it’s not that bad! I had Neon Green Surf Trunks, and everything! LOL!

    I miss “Charlie’s Chili,” at the foot of the Newport Pier… Ruby’s was too high-brow! LOL!

    It looks like you’re gonna get a visitor soon, Hanna isn’t too far away.

    As for hiding a family from the storm, remember the rules;

    No clean towels…
    No hot coffee, or cold soda…
    and last but not least;
    No “pump up beds!'” A cold hard floor screams “I wanna go home!”

Comments are closed.