Gustav’s Morning After…

2 Sep

Well, its a brand new day.

One filled with thoughts of playing with the kid, and even making nice with the wife.

Unfortunately, I have yardwork to do. And, this is about as much fun as being banished to your room, during your sisters birthday party.

(Hey, I thought the water balloon greeting was pretty funny, but Mom said I went over the line by filling them with motor oil… Who knew?) LOL!

Anyway, Gustav was a bust, around here. We got wet, we got wind, we even got a waterspout and a tornado or three, but other than that, nothing. Nada, Zip, Bupkiss…

No looters to shoot, no free MRE’s, no nothing. Picture Ronin sad.

The beaches are all closed, while the county cleans up the debris. The Highway (highway 90) is still closed, for the same reason. The curfew is lifted, and everything is going back to normal.

My wife’s doctor even called, to check in with her and make sure she was okay. When’s the last time that happened? He must be having a boring day at the office…

(Actually, Dr. Christie is a great guy, and he really cares about his patients. Plus, he looks up to me, because he went to that sorry school – USC, and I went to the cool school – UCLA. He’s obviously suffering from envy.)

My phone is ringing off the hook, mostly people wanting to know if it’s safe to come back home. I usually tell them of the horror, flooding, tragedy, suffering, and devastation… and tell them to stay where they are, until they take root. I’m not much for neighbors.

Hey, I’ve got no trouble loving my fellow man, as long as he’s at least three counties away… LOL!

We see the sun peek out from time to time, we’re getting intermittent light rain, and it’s humid as hell, but it’ll pass…

Oy Vay, like a gallstone, it’ll pass…

I’m currently listening to:

Goodbye Blue Sky – Pink Floyd

So, it’s time to focus on other places, that REALLY need the focus. Like SW Louisiana, where things didn’t go so well…

And, it’s time for me to start brainwashing you again, as you follow the thrilling sage unfolding…

“Shipping Containers Make Strong Houses…” Film at 11pm…

Stay tuned…

