Happy Birthday, Spawn of Ronin!

11 Oct

Hey Gang,

I’ve been away a few days, due to a family illness. Sometimes, life isn’t easy, and other times, it seems that it just doesn’t cooperate at all without “persuasion,” but…

My wife is having a really difficult time right now in her battle with her illness. It’s taken priority over everything else, and between her relapse and my baby boy needing “Daddy time,” I’m hard-pressed to get my head working in the “Blog” department. I think that the stress of the recent storms, and just things in general (after all, it ain’t easy living with Ronin, or “Spawn of Ronin”) made things harder on her than I suspected.

So, I apologize for the recent gaps, and we hope that after her surgery (scheduled for this week), things will get better. In fact, I’m praying they do. She’s too young to be going thru this much grief.

In recent days, we’ve started constructing the plan to build the radiant floor heating/Geothermal HVAC unit, at least in principle.  To conceal our “evil plot to usurp HVAC guys everywhere,” the plan is to shoot concrete floors throughout the house, and then stain and “trick” it, to look like a fashionable (cost effective) alternative to tile, or even marble. This will hide the heating system, provide some thermal mass for the sun to heat, it’ll be durable and attractive (I hope) and it’ll be “cheap.”

And, Ronin likes “cheap,” except when it’s either beer, or Scotch!

We’ll use area rugs and carpets in places that get “joshua-proofed,” to allow him to play without risking hitting his head on the “hard” floor.

BTW – The little monster will be 1 year old, tomorrow. Where did the time go? It seems like just yesterday that he was this teeny tiny lil guy, and now he’s prowling around the house, getting into mischief! Man, this kid is thirty+ pounds of dynamite in a pint-sized package!

In the meantime, I hope that your projects are going smoothly, and that life on your end of the rock is progressing just the way you want them to!

Stay tuned!

One Response to “Happy Birthday, Spawn of Ronin!”

  1. Poonam Sharma October 14, 2008 at 4:30 am #

    I wish your wife a speedy recovery, Ronin.

    and Happy Birthday to your sweet kid. He is such an handsome baby.

    Btw, I have hosted Avant Garde Bloggies Awards on my blog (see here: http://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/avant-garde-bloggies-awards/) , I see that you ahve not nominated your posts there. TOday is last day, I guess you can nominate yourself in best public interest/social issues category.

    Current list of nominations: http://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/2008/09/30/nominations-so-far/

Comments are closed.