Photovoltaics 4 Morons – Or; “How I got free power from the sun…”

21 Dec

Lately, I’ve been sitting here in the fog and drizzle, pondering my fate…

As many of you know, my family is building a home in South Mississippi. That’s hardly newsworthy. A hurricane ate the old house, and after months that turned into years battling the insurance company (that claims it’s “too poor to pay the claim”), we’ve been forced to figure out another way to find shelter.

So, that’s exactly what we’re doing. We’re going to build a house out of industrial shipping containers (ISBU’s) and old aircraft hangar components. I’ve been writing about this for months now, so you’re probably pretty familiar with the “who, what, and why” part of this program. If not, well… we’ll wait right here, while you lose yourself in the archives, finding out how we came to this decision, and how we solved our problem.

We’ll wait right here…

We’re still waiting… right here.

Still waiting…

Waiting… waiting… er… um… right here.

You know what? I’m sick and tired of waiting.

If I wait any longer, I’m gonna forget what I was writing about today, and it will be lost forever. You’ll just have to catch up, later. Got it?

Senility is a terrible disease… LOL!

One of the things we’re striving for is the elimination of every bill possible, so that the actual overhead of the house is reduced. Now, I could start a big ole’ pyramid scam (like that Madoff guy who just got caught bilking $50 Billion dollars out of widows and orphans), but… my wife would kill me.

APTOPIX Madoff Scandall

I could find a rich girlfriend… but again… my wife would kill me.

[I’d put a picture here, but my wife would kill HER! LOL!]

I could sell my son Joshua, to the highest bidder, on Ebay… but frankly folks, you haven’t got enough money… and my wife would kill me.

joshua-14mos

So, it looks like I’ll have to do it the old fashioned way. I’ll build a barbed wire obstacle course, and install gun turrets, and shoot any bill collectors that step foot on the property. And then, the State of Mississippi will kill me…

barbed_wire_obstacle

Man, this is getting pretty frustrating…

I suppose, in order to avoid a path that leads to certain death, I’ll just put up solar panels. At least that way, only the sun will kill me, and skin cancer isn’t something that will kill me in a minute, so I’ll have a chance to see my son grow up… and probably kill me… LOL!

photovoltaic-powerplant

Okay, maybe this is a few too many, but; “they were on sale…”

I’ve written before about photovoltaic systems. And, after I did, I realized that it’s harder to explain, than how to build a nuclear reactor out of old grapefruit husks.

“Photo voltaic cells convert solar light photons into electricity. Photovoltaic solar cells fulfill two functions: photogeneration of charge carriers (electrons and holes) in a light-absorbing material, and separation of the charge carriers to a conductive contact that will transmit the electricity.

We are conversant with the fact that solar cells absorb the visible light of the sun, though half of the sun’s output is made up of infrared light that too strikes the earth and it remains completely un-utilized. That is why only about 30% of the total sunlight can be converted to electricity thus lowering photovoltaic cells’ efficiency.

Solar cells are commonly used in remote locations where cost-effective access to local power grids are not possible… Blah-blah-blah…”

photovoltaic

Confused yet? Me too.

So, like anybody (who is lazy and illiterate) who really wants you to understand my pain… um… er… dilemma, I’ve gone to that universal resting place of all knowledge everywhere (I bet you’re gonna say “Google,” right?) YouTube.

Here, people who actually know what they are talking about, explain photovoltaics in a clear, simple, easy to understand manner, that allows even a simpleton like me to figure out how to duplicate their efforts, and get power from the sun, for just a few bucks.

So, without further adieu, I give you; “Photovoltaics One.”

I personally call this one; “I’m a big ole’ geek, but I’m a GREEN geek, dammit!”

Happy viewing!

Stay tuned!

The Renaissance Ronin

2 Responses to “Photovoltaics 4 Morons – Or; “How I got free power from the sun…””

  1. renaissanceronin December 21, 2008 at 4:45 pm #

    Somebody actually “Diggs” me…
    This can’t be good… LOL!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. how to install t | Digg hot tags - December 21, 2008

    […] Vote Photovoltaics 4 Morons – Or; “How I got free power from the sun…” […]

Comments are closed.