Start the New Year with “The Right Stuff…” or else!

8 Jan

Attention, class…

According to the Wall Street Journal, American homeowners flush with credit poured a staggering $4.7 trillion into building houses, over the last decade…

$4.7 trillion dollars. That’s a number so large, I’m not sure what it even looks like. Lemme see…

$4,700,000,000,000.00 Man… that’s a lot of zeroes. More than I ever got on my report cards, lemme tell you! I think… Hmmm… I’m gonna have to double-check, just to make sure… LOL!

That’s about $16,000 for every person living in the United States… I think. I was never much good at ‘rithmatic…

LOL!

Anyway, that’s a LOT of cash/credit. right? You’d think that with all that money being spent, housing technology would bloom and the result would be staggering advances in homebuilding practices.

But, you’d be wrong.

Remarkably, very few genuinely new ideas resulted, according to some of the nation’s leading architects.

“It seems a lot of the innovation wasn’t in how houses were built or how they look or function,” says architect Tom Kundig. “Instead the novelty was in financing.”

And Marianne Cusato adds, “The ‘more is more’ mentality took over…. Developers attempted to differentiate by building a small town in your house…a media room, a café, a hair salon.”

This roughly translates to “I just got more… so there!”

Still, some designers went out on a limb, and actually triumphed. These guys and gals made some homes smaller (hear that, “Little Housers”?). They designed homes with movable exterior walls to encourage residents to spend more time outdoors. Carefully designed glass walls allowed occupants to feel they were floating on treetops. More homes incorporated recycled materials, wind and geothermal energy, and architects used new digital technology.

And because of the housing crisis, the credit crunch, and the failed economy (if you don’t believe it’s failed, I have some land to sell you, right out in the middle of the Gulf of Mexico…) these houses are gonna get lost in the shuffle. Well…

No, they ain’t! I’m gonna make sure that you see each and every one of them (because I’m a psychic, remember?), so that you can think about how you’ll change the way you live, and make life better for your family!

Okay, so maybe you won’t change. Maybe you’ll just think hard about the way that things are being done, and that will lead you to “a brainstorm that causes a veritable revolution in building, and puts all families back into houses, and provides a viable alternative to being homeless…”

Wait… that’s MY dream… But, you can have it too… I like to share… except Ice Cream. Get your own! Go on! Get!

LOL!

So, from time to time, I’m gonna bombard your senses with images of “houses present and future,” and show you what others are doing, and I’ll even include some pictures. That way, you’ll have less chance of getting bored trying to figure out what the hell I’m talking about, in my illiterate scratchings I like to call “a blog post.”

I’m not gonna give you any warnings about when this will happen. Why? Because I’m not dumb. If I give you a schedule, you’ll just avoid me like the plague! I know how you guys work… Don’t think I don’t! LOL!

I’ve already introduced you to those guys from the “Great White North,” who build cabins and barns out of  “junk.”  They don’t just build out of junk, their modular home designs are brilliant! Now you’d think that, after seeing their genius at work,  Paul Stankey and his co-horts at hiveModular.com would be smart enough to move someplace warm, but… Well, go figure! Maybe freezing your brains actually increases mental process… Hmmm…  LOL!

photo-12

Where was I? Oh yeah…

My teachers used to keep me on my toes, by tying a rope around my neck and pulling… um… er… by using that dreaded of all dreads, a “Pop Quiz!” And, because of that, I learned… or else. Hey, rope chafes like crazy! Why do you think I wear turtlenecks, to this day, huh?

So, I’m gonna use the element of surprise, because I’ve been reading “The Ancient Art of War”   again…

Like NOW! Here’s a cool house, that uses stuff that was just lying around collecting rust, to make a cool statement and look like a million bucks. It’s the Tyler House, and it’s located in Arizona. The architect Rick Joy used Corten Steel (you know what that is, right? It’s the stuff shipping containers are made from!) Rammed Earth, and even adobe to build a house that really looks like it belongs there… It’s the first in my series of “The Right Stuff… Houses!”

tyler2

Can’t you ALMOST smell the shipping containers? Hmmm? Nope.

tyler3Looks like home to me!

If you want to see more… Rick has a new website coming soon, and it’ll be located at: http://www.rickjoy.com

Tell him Ronin sent you…

Now, put your pencils down… Get ready for the quiz… People who fail the test will be punished… by having to read this post again! LOL!

Stay Tuned!

The Renaissance Ronin

One Response to “Start the New Year with “The Right Stuff…” or else!”

  1. Forex System Reviews February 19, 2009 at 2:53 am #

    Like the William Shakespeare quote – “True nobility is exempt from fear.” – I look forward for the next post.

Comments are closed.