How having “Beer-breath” can actually save the planet!

6 Feb

Now, if you’ve been following along…

You already know that my family is all about scrounging in the garbage…  um… er… recycling.

You also know that we’re building a home out of recycled Shipping Containers.

container2

Yep those 40′ “Boxes O Blight” (this according to the neighbors, and those “experts” down at Planning and Zoning) are going to be turned into a multilevel palace where this “Grand Puhbah of Prognostication…”

(Okay… I admit it, the title is self-appointed! I even made myself a really cool “proclamation!)

… can continue telling anyone who will listen that saving the earth isn’t just for Zealots and “Eco-whackjobs!” It can actually enrich your life, save you money, and help your family.

And all that hard work gives me a headache. So, every once in a while I retreat to “daddy space,” to just contemplate my navel, and take a deep breath…

But just like recycling, nothing is actually “free…”

You know, there is nothing worse than my wife intruding into the “Man Cave” to holler at me about chores, while I’m drinking a frosty brew and watching a game! Talk about a “buzzkill!”

Finally, there’s a way to save the environment and drink a frosty brew at the same time!

From Earth2Tech: “Dude, DIY Ethanol From Beer Yeast. Totally brewtastic!…

Now there is a home ethanol kit that runs off of discarded beer yeast.

Let me repeat that for the hearing impaired…

Now there is a home ethanol kit that runs off of discarded beer yeast.

e-fuels_microfueler

The entrepreneurs behind startup E-Fuel, who have been hawking a washer-and-dryer-sized home ethanol system called the E-Fuel 100 MicroFueler, tell me that they’ve done a deal with Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. to use the beer maker’s yeast waste as a feedstock.

brewers-yeast1

So, the next time my wife decides to interrupt “Lager Time…” I’m gonna bow right up and tell her that “I’m not just laying around drinking beer… I’m just doing my part to save the planet!”

heh-heh!

Stay tuned!

The Renaissance Ronin

Note: In “celebration” of both winter, and “frozen friends…” I give you a new header photo “Container Cabin in the Sky!” Some of you will recognize the cabin, it’s a “Stankey Monument.”

4 Responses to “How having “Beer-breath” can actually save the planet!”

  1. wildkitty February 7, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    beer guzzlers… they’ll find any excuse 🙄 😛

    • renaissanceronin February 7, 2009 at 11:56 am #

      Oh Yeah? Well… “Beeeeeelccch!” (“Oops! ‘Scuse Me!”) we beer drinkers are saving the planet…
      While “some” fried catfish eaters are just…. outgassing… LOL!

  2. wildkitty February 7, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    I never thought eating catfish would turn into something I’d never live down. LOL.

    • renaissanceronin February 7, 2009 at 11:20 pm #

      Isn’t it funny how one seemingly small lapse in judgment will come back to haunt you for the rest of your life? Hmmm?

      I mean, I was standing there in that church… looking at all those shotguns, and I heard myself say “Yeah, I suppose so…”

      Oh wait… we were talking about your consumption of icky bottom-feeders, soaked in cholesterol and flour… weren’t we? LOL!

Comments are closed.