Ronin sentenced to “Six Feet Under!” Film at 11pm!

10 Mar

Dear Readers,

I gotta tell you that I’m a little thrown at my recent emails. It seems that you’ve been telling me that after your visits to the blog (or after reading my posts syndicated on other blogs), you’ve become concerned about my “emotional well-being.”

It appears that based on reading a few posts, you have overwhelmingly decided that I have “Anger Management Issues”  that “clearly need to be addressed.”

I’m not sure where you get that… It’s not like I’ve ridiculed my neighbors, shaken my fist at authority, poked the occasional Baptist in the eye, or even refused to eat my wife’s cooking.

Wait… I’ve done all of those things… Some of them more than once… Never mind… 🙂

Some of you were also kind enough to remind me that I have many things in my life to be grateful for.

Like that I wasn’t within driving distance, so you could “teach me a lesson…”

When I finished reading your emails, I was (this should come as no surprise to you…) angry.

I know that when you read my posts, you probably do a double-take at some of the things that fly off my keyboard. I can hear you now;  “I can’t believe he said that! Whaaaat an idiot!”

But in my heart, I know I’m already vindicated. You know why? ‘Cuz even though you sputter and fume at the things I say… I know that “you were thinking that too! Weren’t you? Hmmm?”

I just say the things that other people are afraid to say. My wife says it’s a element of “My Unholy Jerkitude.” “Sticks and Stones,” I say…  😉

But I come by it honestly… They say that “everything starts at home.” Does my wife (my one true friend and companion), ever tell me that my posts are “informative and funny?” NOPE.

She just tells me that; “If our son turns out to be an emotionally retarded felon, it’ll be YOUR fault!” Alas, she may be right!

I look forward to reading your responses to this post, perhaps on your own “wildly popular and informative” blog that YOU write! 😉

And because there are those of you who wish me to be “six feet under…”

I’ll show you how I might do it!

In one of my last “angst filled Cornucopia’s  of Container Courtship” I told you about a pal who built a home underground, by using containers as the primary structure.

I thought I might show you what his floorplan looked like. I think you’ll be amazed, and even “mildly interested!”

If I gotta get covered in dirt to fulfill some of your “wishes and aspirations…” I hope it’s like this!

g_flrpln_blog

The home is built of three 16′ x 40′ assemblies, each consisting of (2) 8′ x 40′ x 9’6″ (HQ) Containers. You don’t feel like you’re in a steel box. The ceilings are high, the rooms are spacious, and the wood that surrounds you just warms you up to your soul!

The home wraps around the subterranean courtyard, filled with plants, a fountain, and even a hot tub!

We used enough cabinets in this one house to do at least three. There is enough storage here to last the entire winter, without one trip to the store.  You can see them in the kitchen/dining room area, and in the main entry area. There’s over a hundred feet of cabinetry in there, topped by “handcast concrete countertops.”

Each room has a “skylight.” The Bathrooms have “Sola tube skylights.” If you didn’t know you were underground, you’d never guess. It’s that “comfortable.”

This home is not only “six feet under”  (more actually), it’s in a seismic activity area surrounded by geothermal events and under 8′ of snow in the winter. On top of that, in the Spring and Summer, they get “monsoon rains.” And, not one leak, not one mold spot, not one temperature deviation. Can you say; “Safe and Stable?” I knew you could…

I’d ask him to leave it to me, in his will… but he’s got three kids and a wife that could arm-wrestle a grizzly bear and win!

Next time… who knows what we’ll talk about… Probably my new medication… 😉

Stay tuned!

The Renaissance Ronin

And, please remember that we’re trying to figure out how to keep this blog going. If you enjoy the blog, please donate a few bucks to keep it up and running! We really need the help! Thanks!
2 Responses to “Ronin sentenced to “Six Feet Under!” Film at 11pm!”

  1. David Brown April 9, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    Thanks for the extra description on this project. I was really interested after you mentioned it last, but I couldn’t quite figure out the configuration of the containers. I have been thinking of a container house that would incorporate earthen berms and walls as insulation and protection from the elements, but have been having a hard time finding many good examples. This helps generate the old noggin. Thanks again. And I don’t find anything unsettling about your blogs. It’s weird what people think.

    • renaissanceronin April 9, 2009 at 2:18 pm #

      Ah shucks… Thanks, Dave!

      It’s a cool project, and I have a pal who actually dismantled a similar config, to realign it to resemble the mess I described. Throw in a solar greenhouse along the south face, and you’re looking at good times, my friend! (Kinda like an Earthship, but without all that blasted filling and tamping of old tires and bottles!) Using Containers as the structure, and reinforcing them to withstand earth loads, makes real good sense to me. Quiet, gunshot proof, and easy to maintain. Plus… you never have to paint the house! 🙂

      About the blog, I get some fan mail, but overwhelmingly, I get hate mail. People have gotten used to “clinical discussions” of controversial topics, I suppose. I never claimed to be “Dr. Phil!” I call ’em like I see ’em. And I don’t discriminate, anyone can be a target, at any given time! 🙂

      I’m doing the best I can. If people don’t appreciate that, they can change the station…

      (If they do appreciate what we’re doing here, I hope they hit that Paypal button. We’re going broke, literally, and we need the help to keep the blog running. I’m not a “business,” I’m just a guy.)

      Thanks for your input! It’s appreciated!

      Ronin

Comments are closed.