Another Container Home hits the street… well… almost!

27 Mar

I’m evidently not too cranky to entertain visitors!

Today, as I pondered what to post, some friends dropped in from out of town. These were friends that I made, right here on RR.

Now, I wish they hadn’t shown up dripping wet and getting my carpet all muddy, but… 🙂

The Davies family (hailing from Reno, NV) contacted us a while back, and told us about their dream of building a Shipping Container house.

As we traded emails back and forth, it became pretty obvious that (a) they were our kind of people, and (b) I had a set of plans sitting in a filing cabinet, that would serve their purposes without taxing their wallet strength.

We determined that they were “just like us” when we asked them to send us a photograph of themselves, so we could “see” who we were trading emails with. They sent this:

couple

It seems that “T” is on a “self-improvement” kick, and she’s banished all camera’s until she finds that “perfect place.”

So, when they visited us earlier this year, we gave them the plans, and told them to find an architect to redraw them, to make them applicable to their local Planning and Zoning requirements. They were under the impression that they could just just THESE plans, and build.

(They didn’t get that impression from ME, however! I’ve never, ever seen that scenario work out.)

Today, they dropped by (“T” is a rep/tech working for a big slot machine company, and she travels to little burgs like mine, on occasion) and said hello. We thought they were just dropping by to say “G’day…” but “no-o-o-o-o-o-o!” Actually they got rained out  (there was a big boat race in town, but it was canceled due to the terrible weather) and hatched a sinister plot to take control of my computer, so that she could do “paperwork,” while I talked to the hubby (“R”) about his progress building their home.

As it turns out, between being terrorized by my little boy and trying to look at “revision drawings,” I learned that I was right. They DID have to have the plans redrawn. Lesson? No matter what you download, you’re going to have to find your way into an architect’s or engineers office,  to get plans that your local Building Authorities will accept.

The good news?  The home that they are building (a 2,240 square foot three bedroom) is actually under construction, and headed for completion as we speak! (They added two more containers on top, to form a big master bedroom and bath.)

So far, they’ve spent just under $40,000.00 And it’s the interior that’s goin in, now. They’ve already got the HVAC, the solar panels, the wind turbine, and the plumbing and fixtures in. Not bad! They figure that they’ll be into the house about $65-70,000 by the time it’s actually finished. That’s over a hundred thousand dollars cheaper than any house within several “blocks” of them.

I see this as a victory, of sorts. Yet another ISBU home is going to be out there, for people to see, and learn from. Yet another example of people taking charge of their own lives  and doing what they need to do, without a lot of “meddling” by everyone including the town fire-dog, will be in existence.

I’ll consider it a victory “for sure,” when they start sending me photographs of their family sitting around the fireplace at Christmas, in a snow covered container house, thumbing their noses at all the people around them paying huge mortgages, for way less house… “R”! Ya listening? Huh?

But that’s just me, and that’s the way I roll…

I’ll post photos of their build, as I get them…

Stay tuned!

The Renaissance RoninAnd, please remember that we’re trying to figure out how to keep this blog going. If you enjoy the blog, please donate a few bucks to keep it up and running! We really need the help! Thanks!
9 Responses to “Another Container Home hits the street… well… almost!”

  1. Chris March 28, 2009 at 2:39 am #

    Awesome, can’t wait to see their build. And the price is certainly right!

    • renaissanceronin March 28, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

      Hi Chris,
      The Davie’s wanted to build a house they could afford, that would withstand the harsh environment they live in, all the while maintaining their comfort levels. I think they’re accomplishing it! They’re going to get a mortgage when they move in. It’s already in the works. They’ll finance everything but the land cost, and … they’re doing it, with a mortgage of less than $500 a month, on the other side.

      For over 2,000 sq. ft. and “nearly off-grid!”

      Kudos to them!

  2. hdtrue March 28, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    John

  3. D March 30, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    Wow!!! We love this idea…..we live in Reno and would like to take a look at the Davies house. We have been thinking about building something with shipping containers on some property we have just North of Reno in Northern California. I would love to find a local architect who can/will work with shipping containers. Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

    • renaissanceronin March 30, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

      Hi Dena,

      I’ll pass your email address off to the Davies. Perhaps they’ll give you a tour. I’m hoping that they make good on the “photos” so we can ALL take a tour, via the blog! (Listening, “T?”) As for local architects with an ISBU bent in Nevada? Hmmm… I’ll have to work on that.

    • D June 22, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

      Any word on the Reno container home?

      • renaissanceronin June 23, 2009 at 1:22 am #

        It’s still in Reno, despite the high winds and weather. 🙂

        Actually, I’ll check in, and see if they’ll give us an update.

      • D July 1, 2009 at 11:22 am #

        I figured the house was still here even though we do get some pretty good gusts in our little valley:). We are REALLY interested in building a container home in No. California and would like to pick their brains about how they went about it…..i.e., Architects, where did they get the containers, how much they were, who put them together, etc. ANY help would be greatly appreciated. We’re not really sure where to start and thought maybe they wouldn’t mind helping a fellow container builder along. Thanks for your time.

  4. Heartburn Home Remedy April 15, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    I read your posts for quite a long time and must tell that your posts are always valuable to readers.

Comments are closed.