“Peek-a-boo” ISBU!

8 May

Okay,

I’m hesitant to do this, because I know it’s gonna spawn some crazy conversations, but here goes…

Evidently, an architectural group known as “Bellemo & Cat Architects” decided that they’d build a container house of their own. Now, seeing as how they didn’t want the house to be a “blight on the landscape,” they pulled off most of the Corten steel cladding, and replaced it with translucent panels.

container-house-design-ideas1

If that wasn’t enough, they then “silkscreened” the panels, to look like giant blades of grass.

The central idea for the project was to create a container for living and working that while still engaging with all the site issues of the industrial neighborhood. To use the architect’s words;

“… enabling us to take a thread from the first cocoon we spun for ourselves in Wye River and weave it into the fabric of this next home for ourselves.”

Gimme a second here, to “Google” the Wye River.

Ah, that explains it… Crazy Australians! I’ll  just use their quote (frankly because I’m at a loss for words… imagine that!); 🙂

“The uniqueness of this container home is it’s printed skin (with graphic garden). The skin covered the house, and became a natural outdoor element. Beside its attractive appearance, the translucent skins become resource of natural light into house and also protects the privacy of the owners.”

container-house-design-ideas3

Okay. I bet there’s a ton of storage in those stair units! Good, good…

The building is wrapped on three sides in a translucent printed skin, the third side allows for Northern glazing.

container-house-design-ideas4

I’m wondering where they built it at, because now, it’s just an uninsulated box. Oh yeah… Australia. Wouldn’t that be cool? No worries about freezing your butt off, or sweating to death!

But, I’m really not diggin’ the street view, it hardly promotes anything but;

container-house-design-ideas2

“Ah man, I gotta mow the house again! The grass is twenty feet high!” LOL!

container-house-design-ideas5

Looks like Esher started building plywood stairs! Wouldn’t THAT piss off your carpenter! 🙂

container-house-design-ideas6

This actually isn’t bad. It’s like a little “urban oasis in the middle of the industrial district.” I could see this working…

container-house-design-ideas7

And this could work, unless you had kids. I’m having a heart attack just looking at it! Can you imagine?

“Lookey Daddy… I can Flyyyyy!”

“The printed image is our graphic garden experienced from both the inside and the outside, our urban jungle and as it is made from a photograph of a sculpture of our own it continues a series of works, a personal line of investigation.”

All kidding aside, it’s a neat idea. I know that I threw a few rocks, but it’s probably just envy, in that they can build a box that ends up so bright and open, without worrying about heavy weather or energy usage for a lot of air conditioning use…

On the Ronin Scale from 1-10, 10 being “pretty damned cool…”

I give it an “8.” It’s a snappy concept, and you can dance to it… 🙂

But I’ve gotta wonder; “How does that Cat hold the mouse? Who taught it to do CAD? Is there any corroborating proof on YouTube of “feline design?” Hey, Im just askin’, ‘cuz I know that you were thinking it too!

You were, right?

Stay tuned…

The Renaissance RoninDo You Enjoy Our Articles and Features? Are you interested in helping a family that is helping others get back on THEIR feet? We could sure use the help, honest! Please Consider Making a Small, Secure Donation! Use our Paypal button!

3 Responses to ““Peek-a-boo” ISBU!”

  1. thegreenestdollar May 10, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Ronin,

    Wow, that house is AMAZING. I love it!

    • renaissanceronin May 11, 2009 at 10:34 am #

      I’m just glad I don’t drink…

      I’d have a heart attack coming home after a few beers, and discovering that I had to put on a harness to mow the house… LOL!

      And those staircases give me nightmares! 🙂

  2. Charlie June 11, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    The house is great, I think I would have gone with Flowers or chinese writing or something else on the outside altogether but the translucence is awesome and the glazing is ok.
    But where are the ISBU?
    Great site Ronin!

Comments are closed.