Container Housing isn’t…

14 Dec

Greetings, My Minions of Metal!

Today, we are taking a break from all things Corten. Okay, maybe not ALL things, just SOME things… Why?

Well, because I’m getting email from people who are still confused about what a “Container House” really is.

People who have been following along (you both know who you are… thanks, sis!) know that a Shipping Container Home (also known as an ISBU Home) is built using Intermodal Steel Building Units.

I know, I know… Don’t blame me. This time, I didn’t do it! 😉

That’s just a pretty ridiculous name to describe something that is basically just a Solid Steel Box.

These Containers yield hundreds of square feet, that comes pre-weatherized, pre-stressed, and pre-assembled. By themselves, they’re just steel tubes. But, when you combine them like Lego’s… they become more… much more.

Doesn’t look much like a container anymore, does it? Hmmm?

That’s right… I-S-B-U.

This is NOT a container home, even if you take the tires off. So, stop asking. While it’s Ronin’s idea of just about the coolest RV trailer known to man, it’s not even close to being a “container house.”

But… Ronin craves one… my preciousssssss.

NOT a Container House. “Betcha By Golly Wowwwie!” Don’t care! I want one!

Container House. Kinda boring, but it’s a Container Home, none the less.

Container. By the looks of it, a 20 footer. It’d make a good workshop, or a backyard office, eh?

Here’s the deal;

Container houses can look like “anything.”

Container Homes can look all “Golf Course Chic.”

Container Homes might even look like they aren’t even there.

Note: An ISBU used in this manner would require  HEAVY REINFORCEMENT.

You’d be surprised at the ability of a container to blend into it’s surroundings, if you just put your mind to it.

But here’s the coolest part about repurposing shipping containers for your housing project.

They’ll save you m-o-n-e-y.

Container homes cost 30-45% less to build than standard stick homes.  (Don’t fall for that “Concept Container Home” Hype on HGTV! They don’t HAVE to cost $400+ a square foot.) Container homes can be built for less than $100 a square foot, by anyone determined to build their own home, and shed at least 125 pounds of weight… like their mortgage banker.

Hey, I built a “Container Home” and I lost 255 pounds! My Mother-In-Law moved out, and refused to come back!! Talk about win-win! 😉

And, they go up MUCH faster.

You know, that stuff that you’re just throwing out of your wallet right about now, while you get ready for Santa’s visit…

And if you’re shopping for Ronin… I’ll take that really cool camper up there, or even that swell treehouse. The rest… I can do myself. You HAVE been reading along, right?

Merry Christmas!

Stay tuned!

I know that I give my mother-in-law a hard time. But hey, I had a pet snake that bit anyone who tried to handle it. Everyone EXCEPT her. Know why? That snake knew another poisonous reptile when he saw one… 😉
4 Responses to “Container Housing isn’t…”

  1. OPL December 14, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    I just wanted to add a comment here to mention thanks for you very nice ideas. Blogs are difficult to run and time consuming so I appreciate when I see well written material. Your time isn’t going to waste with your posts. Thanks so much and persevere You will definitely reach your goals! good job!

  2. James NomadRip December 14, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

    That embedded dirt version looks like it is cemented in pretty well prior to the dirt and grass being added.

    -The reader that is not your sister

    • renaissanceronin December 15, 2009 at 11:34 am #

      Hi James,

      That bunker looks like it’d stand up against almost anything, huh? It does stress the point that in order to bury a container, you’d have to heavily fortify it first.

      Too bad you can’t do that around here. In a hurricane, with all the driven water, you’d drown! 😉

      And now I have THREE readers! Oh woe, the responsibility! 🙂

      Visited your website, by the way… LOVED it. I wish everyone could “Live Collar Free.”

      Ronin

  3. Bill December 16, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

    Just a quick note to say I really enjoyed this post. Great information to help me formulate my container plans. The pictures were great as well. Thanks.

Comments are closed.