Meet the RR Architect – Pick of the Month: Adam Kalkin

8 Jan

Greetings, Corten Crusaders!

Every once in awhile I throw another architect onto the bonfire… um…er…  “showcase” a talented guy or gal who’s making an impact in the ISBU – Container Home movement.

Enter – Adam Kalkin.

Now, I ain’t worried about Adam getting irritated at me, because, frankly, I’m pretty sure that I can take him. I don’t smoke “stinky cigars”…  and I even know “Jew-Fu”, after all… 🙂

I hadn’t thrown Adam to the wolves here, because frankly, I figured that everybody already knows who he is. Although his work is a “little bit abstract” at times, his work has inspired just about anyone who has ever put a plasma cutter to a container. He certainly inspired me.

He did this project:

.

And this one:

And even this one;

But at a time when many architects are trying to “re-green” themselves, to try and find some commerce in a dying market,… Adam Kalkin is “the real deal”.

Okay, some people don’t get his “stuff.” But, I do. And, I think that if you look at it carefully, you will too.

This guys isn’t just an architect, he’s an artist.  He gives birth to projects that contain the essence of  “industrial grit mixed with poetic touches and a dash of performance art” to quote a source I have over at Dwell Magazine.

If you look up “Mad Genius” in any on-line dictionary, you’ll probably see his photograph. But, he has the project bio to back it up, let me assure you.  And, most of those projects involve the use of shipping containers as a structural component.

He’s been featured in the New York Times, and even in architectural Bibles, like Dwell Magazine.

Adam’s the guy who came up with the “Quik House“.

This home is a prefab kit, using shipping containers. It’s an 8 week endeavor, and you end up with  3 BDRMs/2.5 Baths – 2000 square feet of Corten bliss. All this, for the low, low price of about $99,000.00.

Now, I’ve built a home similar to Adam’s, we used a ton of recycled and repurposed materials,  and we were pretty careful… but we still spent about $110,000.00. to complete it. So, YMMV.

By the way, it appraised out at over $200 a square foot.

If this concept is any indication of Adam’s insight and brilliance, well…  it’s clear that the man knows ISBUs.  Adam knows what he’s doing, and he has some real vision when it comes to repurposing “cast-off” Corten containers into homes that families will cherish for decades to come.

Yeah… Adam is a little bit arrogant. Hey! All brilliant men are!

Or so I keep telling my wife, who thinks that “arrogant” is my middle name. Adam does come off as a bit of a know-it-all.

But, he comes by it honestly He’s gotten it the old fashioned way. He EARNED it.

Is he “too cool for school”? Probably.

But, if you pay attention, you can learn “stuff.”

And like Michael Douglas said in that movie; “Stuff is good…”

Or was he talking about something else? I forget.

Every time I think of Michael Douglas, I think of Sharon Stone in the interrogation room, or Catherine Zeta “I must be crazy to marry a Douglas.” So sue me.

For those of you who aren’t impressed by this guy…

NO! Not Michael Douglas! Try to keep up, huh?  🙂

I’ll be waiting for your videos of the homes that YOU built using shipping containers.

Here’s Adam;

Stay tuned.

Okay, you all know what’s going on with my family, so I’m not going  to beat you up with that…

If this blog has helped you, educated you, amused you, or even just made you shake your head and wonder why I’m not locked up in some room clad with rubber tiles…

Please know that this site has required a great deal of money, time and effort to develop & maintain. If it’s been useful to you at all, and you can afford to…  you can help my family and support this site by making a small donation by hitting that Paypal button up there on the right. Paypal is the BEST “secure” way to donate to any cause… especially one like ours. This will help keep us alive while we try to remedy our own situation, and empower us to continue writing, maintaining, providing countless hours of hard work, and including any updates or topics that I think might interest the readers here.
3 Responses to “Meet the RR Architect – Pick of the Month: Adam Kalkin”

  1. Haresh Udhwani February 23, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Hi,
    I am looking for blue prints and building plans for
    2×40′ containers on the first floor and
    2×40′ containers on the second floor
    2/3 bedrooms
    2/2.5 baths
    I need the works, structural, electrical, plumbing and how to DIY instruction.
    Please help!!
    Harry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Haiti and Hamburgers… « The Life and Times of a "Renaissance Ronin" - February 19, 2010

    […] For those of you who don’t know who Adam Kalkin is, you can find out more about him, HERE. […]

Comments are closed.