We’re Helping Haiti!

26 Jan

Greetings Campers!

Much has happened since we last all gathered around the campfire.

Most of you know that I interrupted a series of blog posts on “Finding Financial Aid via Federal Grants” to talk about a home that we’re building for some kids who lost their father.

Thank you’s go out to all those people who looked beyond “the way the system is supposed to work” and reached out to help this family, in their time of need.

This isn’t a question of “death benefits.”

Frankly, it angers me that it’s become that in many places where we’re talking about this.

It’s a question of providing a family with comfort after they paid the supreme price.

While that was all happening, the earthquake in Port Au Prince, Haiti  has turned the focus of most of the world toward Haiti, as we all try to determine how best to help the survivors of this terrible disaster.

Friday last, I was contacted by representatives of the Clinton-Bush Initiative, to help establish a process by which “Empowerment Centers” (consisting of medical clinics, schools and even orphanages) could be built at high speed, to aid Haitians as they rebuild.

It appears that they think I’m an expert. I’ll do everything in my power not to disappoint them!

(Wait until they find out that I’m basically just a cranky old Jew with a plasma cutter!) 🙂

These steel buildings are to be constructed out of ISBU’s (Shipping Containers), one of the few materials sitting there on the ground, that can be used as a resource.

As one of the appointed “helpers” I’m aiding those organizers to establish knowledgeable teams to help achieve these goals. Basically, I’m just helping them tap into places where there are skilled people that can help. Ronin evidently know everybody… 🙂

The next few days will be as hectic as the last few, days in which I’ve spent endless hours writing reports and fielding telephone calls from points across the ether, as we establish support teams.

I ask you to be patient with me as I get the blog on track, in the gaps between trying to assist these individuals who are doing all they can, to aid Haiti’s people.

Please, PRAY for the people of Haiti, and those who are already on the ground there, trying to do whatever they possibly can,  to provide aid and comfort to the Haitian people as they contribute to  rescue, medical, and vital support operations.

G-d Bless Them!

Ronin

If you have family in Haiti: Inquiries concerning U.S. Citizens living or traveling in Haiti should be referred to the U.S. Department of State, Office of Overseas Citizens services, at 1-888-407-4747 or 202-647-5225. Unfortunately at this time, inquiries to search for non-U.S. Citizens missing in Haiti are not being accepted.

The Red Cross family linking response in Haiti will focus on allowing people in the earthquake affected areas to contact their relatives abroad.

4 Responses to “We’re Helping Haiti!”

  1. margie g January 26, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    Ronin aka Professor Plasma Cutter,

    Count me in on this one. Let me know how I may be of service in country.

    Late,
    margie g

  2. NickB. January 27, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Hey, not all the “experts” can be Pierce Brosnan in Mars Attacks – http://content6.flixster.com/photo/10/86/13/10861376_gal.jpg

    I wish there was something I could do to help too, but gratz on the recognition and a big thank you for lending a hand!

  3. Carol January 27, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    After this crisis happened I couln’t help but think that homes and buildings built from containers would have withstood the devestation better. While that’s in the past I am EXTREMELY happy to hear that they have called upon THE Plasma Cutting Jew to help with this very important project.

    Good luck in these endevors!

  4. james goddard January 28, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I’m in the process of building a storage container home. Let me know what I can do to help. I am available to go to Haiti, if needed.

    (Note: Phone number removed by moderator to insure commenter’s privacy)

Comments are closed.