A Different Kind of METAL…

10 Feb

Okay, today we’re gonna take a brief sidestep away from plasma cutters, and welders, and grinders… and talk about another kind of metal.

And, we’re gonna talk about a family using metal to empower their lives, as they help others!

Many of you know that I have a favorite quote that I measure people by. For those of you who don’t, it goes like this:

Doesn’t matter what the press says.

Doesn’t matter what the politicians or the mobs say.

Doesn’t matter if the whole country decides that something wrong is something right.

This nation was founded on one principle above all else:

America was founded on the requirement that we stand up for what we believe, no matter the odds or the consequences. When the mob and the press and the whole world tell you to move, your job is to plant yourself like a tree beside the river of truth, and tell the whole world;

“No, YOU move.”

This is the story of “Trilogy Jewelry.”

And, it’s anything BUT a “fairy tale.”

Once upon a time, in the land of Oranges…

… there was a small family who created really cool jewelry out of pewter and silver, that is REALLY affordable, and quite cool. I’m, talking like $6 bucks for something that you’d pay double for, anywhere else.

But, before you turn the channel, thinking you hit some bizarre Internet infomercial or something…

… this isn’t as much about what Trilogy Jewelry sells as it is about WHO they actually are.

Back in the wee hours of last year, during that “It’s almost Hanukkah, Yule, and Christmas… and you’d better get me a present or else, you [expletive deleted] old Jew, you…”

I spent my entire fortune… $5.97 to be precise… to buy a pewter necklace for Char, that sorta signifies both her “personality” and her fight against Cancer. It wasn’t much, it was a stocking stuffer sorta thing.

I wished it was silver or even gold… but it was what  I could afford.

It was actually a pewter necklace depicting a set of brass knuckles. It’s signifies the strength and the lengths that Char is going to every single day, to fight this horrid cancer. Plus, it just sorta said “CHAR.”  You’d just have to know her to get the link. 😉

Well, I ordered it, and then, like responsible Internet dealers… They shipped it.

And just like everything else in our lives lately… you can guess what happened.

It never arrived.

I just figured that it was such a small order that we got pushed back, so we just waited. A few weeks passed, and we never saw it, so I finally contacted the company.

They replied really promptly, and sent me the shipping information, and sure enough, it turned out that someone had swiped it out of the mailbox. Several emails back and forth ensue.

During this, apparently, this family starts reading our blog. And… they reship another identical necklace at their expense.

Mind you, they don’t have to, because it wasn’t their fault.

And, of course… that one never arrives, either.

Now, at this point, I’m not liking the Mailman… He’s the common denominator here.

After all, he verified that it was placed in the mailbox, but in the string of the days in which he claims he made the delivery, I’d met the mail, and virtually taken it right out of his hand. Something is going on, and I’m not sure what, but Ronin is a rather unhappy camper to say the least.

I complain to the Post Office. They basically just say “Tough Noogies…” Ronin could steam eggs on his forehead right about now… Now I REALLY understand the term; “Going Postal.”

Still we have no necklace.

Char is starting to look at me like I’m crazy or delusional. (Okay, so that’s actually “normal”, but now she has yet ANOTHER reason!)

But… It’s not the company’s fault, so I send them an email, telling them what is going on, to tell them to keep my money, and I asked them to show me how to create a comment on their “feedback” blog, to tell people that even though it wasn’t their fault at all, they’d gone out of pocket twice, to try and get the necklace to Char.

I think people need to know that kind of stuff… that little people running little companies, with little profit margins, operating over the internet and beyond, actually care about their customers, beyond their own wallets.

To make a long story short, last week, they refund my original payment of $5.97, they hand-cast a new necklace for Char, they make a cool Jewish necklace for Joshua too (A “Ninja” Star Of David – because he’s a two year old “Jewish Ninja Terrorist” – says “me”) and they even include a casting identical to Char’s necklace for me to put on a keychain, as a “link” between the two of us, as she fights her illness with everything that she has.

So, they’re already out two necklaces and the shipping costs, they refuse to take my money, and then they give Char and I two more necklaces and a keychain piece, plus the extra shipping costs to demand that a signature from US is the only way it can get delivered.

At this point, they’ve spent more on shipping fees, than I spent for the first necklace.

During this whole thing, I’m apologizing profusely, because it’s NOT THEIR FAULT.

And, while I’m apologizing, THEY are apologizing to ME because we’re having so much trouble getting one of their necklaces. I mean, it’s crazy… The only thing they could have done differently was to “hand deliver” it all the way from Florida.

Right after I got off the phone with Suzanne (the owner of Trilogy Jewelry) today, the postman shows up with a package. And guess what? Since I had to sign for it, nobody could STEAL it.

People like this deserve our thanks, folks!

Not just for helping MY family… but for having this thought process, this feeling in their hearts and minds that makes them go the extra mile, regardless of what it costs them, just to do “the right thing” for their customers.

I have to do something to show my appreciation for their feelings, their generosity, and even their moral convictions.

I can’t do much. You guys know that my family is “getting our butts handed to us” on a regular basis, but this is what I can do:

In the next few days, I’m going to build a widget over there on the right side of my blog, so that from now on… when you’re looking for something really cool and really inexpensive as a gift… or even for yourself,  you can just HIT THAT BUTTON, and go check out their catalog.

(For now, just click on the links in this post. I’ve put in several!)

Ronin won’t make a dime, I promise. I’m doing this just to say “thank you.” It’s one of the few things I can do for them, after they’ve done so much for us.

Char’s having some really dark days, and it’s the first time I’ve actually seen her smile in quite a while.

Trilogy Jewelry has an extensive jewelry catalog (rings, necklaces, you name it), and they have everything you can imagine from regular stuff to specialty stuff, in almost any field of religion and theme that you can think of.

And it’s high quality, hand-made, stuff that they put their “love ” into it. It’s not that cheap Chinese or “Import” – “Swap Meet” crap. Did I mention that their stuff is cheap, cheap , cheap?

And I’m talking “cost,” not quality. We couldn’t be more pleased.

Their stuff really is dirt cheap, I’ve seen the same exact pieces on other sites, for double the cost plus outrageous shipping charges. These guys are a “class act,” all the way through.

They really made Char’s day, and I owe them. We can’t get my son’s necklace away from him. He’s clutching it like it’s a fistful of M&M‘s (his favorite thing on the planet, so far).

And after writing to you (or AT you, depending on how you look at it) I know that my readers are down to earth, “grass roots” kinda people who really like dealing with good families, and not greedy corporations.

This “Trilogy Jewelry” family is one of  US. And, I know that you’ll appreciate their cool stuff. I know that WE do.

These are the kind of folks we WANT to deal with. They’re people who step up, and do what’s right, regardless. I can’t thank them enough… I really admire them, and I think that you will, too.

So, when you’re in the doghouse and you need a quick “get outta jail free” necklace, or a trinket or bauble just to say “I love you, but um… not your mother…. too much… honey”…  😉

I want you to check them out. You’ll be glad that you did.

Tell ’em Ronin sent you.

http://www.trilogyjewelry.com

Stay tuned.


