Oil everywhere, and it ain’t 3 in 1, either…

30 Apr

After the recent Offshore Oil Rig disaster, we’ve been waiting to see how things are going to play out.

Today we found out that our local beaches will be covered in oil by Sunday. I live about 1000 feet from those beaches.

As the State and clean-up companies everywhere mobilize to deal with new threat to the Gulf of Mexico, we’re seeing an already ravaged local economy begin to collapse. With no beaches, no tourists, and no commerce, this part of Mississippi will dry up and start to mummify.

If you’re reading this and you’re looking for work, they’re hiring over a thousand people right now in LA, to act as “clean-up crews.” I’m sure that will happen here, too. The local employment centers are already begging for workers, to send over to LA.

Louisiana beaches are already closed. Mississippi’s will close sometime tonight or in the morning as the oil starts to appear.

I’m now hip deep in organizing an infrastructure to feed hundreds of workers that will start showing up in the next three days to secure the beaches here.

I WISH I had someone to watch my wife and child!

They’re paying $25 an hour for site supervisors (I already have just about every Safety Cert card in my wallet now, including HazMet), and it’s a mandatory 84 hour a week job, 7 days a week for a long time. We could really use that kind of income right now.

I’ll tell you more, when I know more. Until then… hang on…

This could be worse than the Exxon Valdez spill, before we’re thru.

3 Responses to “Oil everywhere, and it ain’t 3 in 1, either…”

  1. Madrigorne May 4, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    With that kind of income you could pay someone to watch over your wife and child. I wish you guys were up here – I could be of help.

    -Madrigorne.

    • renaissanceronin May 4, 2010 at 8:08 am #

      Hi Madrigorne,

      Couldn’t I though? I’m actually trying to figure it out now.

      In the meantime, we’re converting a quartet of 20′ ISBUs into a kitchen complex.

      I found a 10 burner range a while back, that I couldn’t give away, try as I might. Now, it’s the centerpiece for a 20′ Galley, surrounded by prep space and linked to pantrys, dry storage, drink cooler ISBUs and a large Walk-in that we’re building out of an ISBU, a foot of foam sheathing, and a reworked window a/c unit. I kid you not…

      They’re talking about putting people (emergency workers) in the Coliseum, and feeding them MRE’s.

      That’s what I want… 12-14 hours a day of mucking oil and garbage, only to come back to the cot, to open a plastic bag filled with plastic bags… and food that isn’t exactly “home cooking”. This is backbreaking labor. I’ve done it before. And, it’ll continue for months, non-stop.

      For all the “planning” they do here, the results end up looking like Swiss Cheese.

      I mean, for all the planning, you can still see the ravages of Hurricane Katrina everywhere.

      Ronin

      • Madrigorne May 5, 2010 at 6:42 am #

        Yeah you can see her fingerprints still lingering in the photographs of the shores expecting the spill – still submerged cars and torn off roofs poking out of the wetlands…

Comments are closed.