Something wicked this way comes…

14 May

Many of you know that I preach the “Corten Chronicles” from Biloxi, Mississippi, on the Gulf of Mexico. In fact, I live about 1000 feet from the beach.

It used to look like this…

Recently, a Deepwater Horizon oil rig (leased to British Petroleum) exploded in the Gulf, and then sank into the sea, killing several oil workers.

If that wasn’t terribly enough, the oil well started leaking oil into the Gulf of Mexico. Not a little oil, but so much oil that this may become the largest oil disaster in history.

The Deepwater Horizon Oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico approaches Mississippi shores.

And then, it will look like this.

The oil leak, which looks likely to be the worst environmental disaster in American history, came after an explosion on April 20 on the Deepwater Horizon oil rig off the coast of Louisiana. The rig, which sank two days later, is owned by Transocean but leased by BP, which has the drilling rights in the oil field.

Thousands of gallons of oil a day are seeping into the Gulf from a leak 5,000ft below the surface, which is making the clean-up operation extremely difficult.

The appearance of the heads of all the companies involved recently before Congress (all perched on the edges of their chairs, like schoolkids in the principals office) was comical, if not tragic. They all simply blamed each other.

BP has been keen to stress that even though the oil rig was leased to the company, it was operated by Transocean so ‘it was not our accident’.

It is however OUR accident. “We, the people”… are going to inherit those multi-national profiteers lack of judgment (or common sense), and the “evidence” is going to wash up on our beaches killing virtually everything it touches, in the next few days.

We are now just “victims of the tide, and the British… again…”Oy.

This is going to make the Exxon Valdex oil disaster look like “olive oil poured into a hot skillet.”

BP claims that they’re doing all they can, but their “efforts” aren’t working, or even helping.

My blood pressure is boiling as I watch the gyrations of these guys, who are pretending that they are actually acting to stop this crisis, but in reality are simply going thru the motions.

I see the tankers flying dumping dispersion chemicals on the spill. But is it helping, or simply making matters even worse? They are dumping poison onto poison…

Here’s a quote from the “New York Times”;

“So far, BP has told federal agencies that it has applied more than 400,000 gallons of a dispersant sold under the trade name Corexit and manufactured by Nalco Co., a company that was once part of Exxon Mobil Corp. and whose current leadership includes executives at both BP and Exxon.

Another 805,000 gallons of Corexit are on order, the company said, with the possibility that hundreds of thousands of more gallons may be needed if the well continues spewing oil for weeks or months.

But according to EPA data, Corexit ranks far above dispersants made by competitors in toxicity and far below them in effectiveness in handling southern Louisiana crude.

Of 18 dispersants whose use EPA has approved, 12 were found to be more effective on southern Louisiana crude than Corexit, EPA data show.”

That said, let’s look at reality.

I grew up in Southern California as a kid, when we were stationed in the US. We lived in a area surrounded by oil fields, processing centers, and earthquakes. And there WERE spills.

They didn’t dump chemicals into the sea. They used HAY, to clean up the mess, or at least start mitigating it.

Hay was used successfully to clean up a major oil spill off of  California’s Santa Barbara coastline in 1969. How do I know? I saw it with my own (young) eyes. I was there. Many, many local US Marines, Boy Scouts, and even “Devil Pups”  helped clean up that spill.

Hay could indeed be used to help protect  and even cleanse the beaches here. But are there any hay bales sitting out there waiting to be used? No.

I mean, hay is bio-degradable, non-toxic, easily handled, and there’s a lot of it. HELLO? A LOT of it.

But, instead, they want to further compound the problem, by making a toxic soup that will kill everything it touches, while they literally throw hundreds of thousands of gallons of toxic goo onto an already toxic mess…

Virtually guaranteeing that nothing will live, or have anything even remotely resembling a hope or chance of recovering from it.

And remember, that “toxic soup” is going to be carried all over the planet, by the Gulf current, killing all over the globe.

They’re pouring gasoline onto a fire.

And WE will ALL pay the price, while BP laughs it’s way to the bank, as they continue to makes hundreds of millions of   dollars a day in oil profits as the price of oil shoots up… as a direct result of this spill.

And, WE will have to figure out how to fix this. Obviously, British Petroleum can’t be trusted.

Now, I’m sure that you’re all just thinking that I’m “grasping at straw”. 🙂

But… Watch this short video, and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

More later, I have to make another “beach pass…”

Ronin

6 Responses to “Something wicked this way comes…”

  1. Marco Grande May 25, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Hi, great article!
    I was wondering if i could translate this and put it in my blog (i’m italian).
    Obviously i would give you the credit and would add the link to the original article at the bottom.

    Let me know!!

    • renaissanceronin May 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

      Hi Marco,

      I’d be delighted to have you run my post on your blog… in Italian, even. 🙂

      I should have written it in Italian myself. I’m fluent in Italian… except that I only know “Linguini”, “Ravioli”, and “Esca della mia iarda!”
      (which, gentle readers… translates to “lunch”, and “Get out of my yard!”) 😉

      Feel free to use my posts under the conditions you mentioned in your comment!

      I just hope that your readers don’t all run away from your blog after they read my posts!

      Ciao!

      Ronin

  2. Marco Grande May 26, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    Ahah Ronin no they won’t, yours is good information mate 😛

    Nice that you know italian!! I have to correct you though: It is “linguine” and “get out of my yard” translates into “esca dal mio giadino” cause “iarda” is the italian for the length unit (which we don’t use anyway cause we have metres, ecc..).
    So….given the fact that you know italian, you can use my blog to practice or even improve it!!! I would be pleased!!! 😛

    • renaissanceronin May 26, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

      Okay…

      You got me… I can’t even order lunch in Milan… Oy. 😦

      And I guess telling someone to “Get off my ruler” is kinda pointless, huh? 🙂

      I’ll just go back to the old “yard clearing” method…

      … Firing randomly into the air with a large caliber handgun, while looking menacing. Grrr! 🙂

      From what I can read of your blog (remember, me Italian sucks gas…) I LOVE it. Coolness on the Corten Colossal Scale = 9+!! 🙂

      Enjoy the posts, and have fun, huh? There’s not a lot of that going around.

      Ronin

  3. Marco Grande May 28, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    Ahah don’t worry if you ever come back to Italy, i’ll buy you lunch 😛

    Ehi, don’t let the government take away your gun then! I hear that they are quite busy trying to do that…i myself am in the process to get documents to keep a weapon in my house…you never know what the bad times will bring 🙂

    The article is ready, but in the end i ended up writing a brand new thing 😛

    Read it if you can 😛 And leave a comment!!!

    Peace, brotha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Something wicked this way comes… « The Life and Times of a "Renaissance Ronin" -- Topsy.com - May 15, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Santa Barbara Dude. Santa Barbara Dude said: Something wicked this way comes…: Many of you know that I preach the “Corten Chronicles” from Biloxi, Mississippi,… http://bit.ly/av4zgJ […]

Comments are closed.