Honor, Courage, and Remembrance…

31 May

Okay, so I’m not the only Veteran here…

It’s Memorial Day.

I know that a lot of you see this as the first long weekend of summer…

But, it’s more than that. Much more.

If one more person wishes me “Happy Memorial Day”, I swear I’m going to hit them in the teeth.

There is nothing HAPPY about it. When I think of Memorial Day, I think of those who fell alongside me and many like me,  in places many of wish we could forget… as we faced our lives and deaths, from dawn till dusk on fields covered with blood. I think of family buried in places like Arlington National Cemetery. I think of tears and sadness.

Memorial Day is about the sacrifice of soldiers… soldiers who cast themselves into the fire, to preserve our freedom.

Soldiers are not “sacrificial objects”. Our soldiers are Americans with the same rights, morals, and virtues as the rest of us. Each of them wants to pursue their own goals, their own dreams, and their own happiness. Soldiers aren’t mindless drones, they enjoy the work of military service, they take pride in their abilities, and they gain profound satisfaction in the knowledge that they are protecting the freedom of every single American, including themselves. They are motivated by the knowledge that they are making the world a better place, for everyone.

And some of them make the supreme sacrifice, to insure it.

Memorial Day is a very solemn and sad occasion that honors the American soldiers who lost their lives in war. It’s a hallowed day too;  like the blood running thru their veins, the values those men and women who “fought to defend”… form the very core of our nations principles:

Democracy, freedom for all, and the protected rights of the individual.

They were men and women from all walks of life…

They were Mothers, Fathers, Sisters, Brothers, Husbands and Wives…

Some were drafted and some volunteered.

They fought for all sorts of reasons. Some did things that they would only forget in death.  Many more became heroes.

Some fought wars with meanings far beyond imagination or understanding. Some actually changed the world. And some were actually changed forever.

You may question WHY they served. You may question the wars they fought. You may even question the leaders that gave them their orders.

But, you can NEVER EVER question their sacrifices.


Please take a moment to remember our fallen. Without their sacrifices, the world you live in would be a much different place, indeed.

May God bless ’em… every one.

4 Responses to “Honor, Courage, and Remembrance…”

  1. Dave in Larryville May 31, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Amen to that my friend.

    Last night I was reflecting on the burial of my father at National Cemetery #1 in Ft. Scott Kansas.

    When I hear “Taps” it’s still hard to hold back the tears. My dad fought in WW II, as a radio operator on B-24’s in the Pacific theater.

    When I was a kid, he used to tell me about how much fun he had on the islands after they’d come back from a mission.

    My dad was a tortured soul, who saw things when he was 17 and 18 that no one should have to see. Japanese Zeros pretty much ruled the sky in the Pacific early in the war, and my dad and his brethren got shot up, very badly on a few occasions.

    He took to drinking during the war, and it would cost him a lot over 50 years, until he gave it up near the time of his death, at 70 years old.

    When I was about 28 years old, I bought him a model of a B-24 for Christmas that year… I thought he would relish it. About 2 months later while visiting, I asked him if he’d worked on it. He looked down, paused, and then said quietly… “I started to, but I started having horrible nightmares so I stopped”. I could see the tear in the corner of his eye.

    Decades later, standing at his graveside, I realized my dad was a war casualty. I can still feel the wince of the the salutes report, and the brass tinkling as it hit the ground.

    Personally… I think most politicians of just about any stripe are mostly a worthless use of a suit. When they start bullshit up and foment conflict, I am usually suspicious of their reasons, FOR good reason.

    But our folks in the military, they suit up and show up, and lay their lives on the line, and too often, lose their lives in so doing.

    Because they are willing to do that and put themselves in the breach when called, we have lasted as a nation as long as we have.

    It doesn’t much bother me when I hear folks rag about politicians starting wars.

    But rag on our armed forces… and you are likely to get a response from me that is pretty unpleasant.

    God bless our armed forces living and passed.

    DJY

    • renaissanceronin May 31, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      We are fortunate that there are so many brave men and women willing to give their lives to do the right thing, for “others”…

      It makes me wonder if the reason that we have so many of them scattered across the globe is to keep them from coming home, and then “taking care of business” here in America.

      Perhaps not, but it does make you wonder what would happen if all those brave men and women were HERE, to stand up against some of the nonsense that we’re seeing erode our nation.

      G_d bless ’em.

  2. David May 31, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Thank You

    • renaissanceronin May 31, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

      Hi David,

      It’s not ME that we should thank. It’s THEM…

      Thanks for your comment.

      Ronin

Comments are closed.