A “Corten Cabin” contributes to Oil Crisis in Gulf! Film at 11pm!

1 Jun

Okay, first thing;

The Gulf of Mexico Transocean/Deepwater Horizon/British Petroleum (BP) “oil slick” isn’t here yet.

BP’s latest “BS session” involved using a “top kill” procedure to plug a leak. It failed. Miserably, as predicted by people who should be listened to, but aren’t.

In Coastal Mississippi, where I presently live…

We DO have oil (in what is currently being deemed “trace amounts”) and “tarballs” on the beaches (almost everywhere).

We do have fouling on watercraft, and we are seeing a lot of dead animals that have fallen victim to the spill. But, so far, the oil is still out there lingering offshore, waiting to test our resolve.

Second – as we prepare to battle the oil, I started thinking about the influx of workers that will be arriving, in the middle of Hurricane Season, here on the Gulf Coast.

Lots of the contingency plans we are seeing are to place these workers in tents. TENTS.

So, when the tropical storms and possibly even hurricanes come in, they’ll get pounded and displaced.

Weather Scientists (I know, I know… “oxymoron”) are saying that we are going to have an “extremely active hurricane season” this year.

But, UM… TENTS? You want us to put these workers in tents? It’s ridiculous, and it puts all those people at risks above and beyond those they’ll already be encountering “in the oil”.

So, what can we do?

Here’s a thought,

Use all those shipping containers to create steel dorms, or even small complexes, scattered along the Gulf Coast, to put some steel and high-strength glass between those workers and harm.

Use 40′ to 48′ ISBUs and create multi-level “apartments”. Shipping containers are already designed to STACK up, remember? Piled 12 containers wide, and 5 containers high, you house 60 (yes SIXTY) workers or more… in the space most people build a tract home on…

And you can do it VERY affordably.

And each ISBU unit will by far surpass the energy efficiency of that tract home, unit for unit, unless the builder is a moron.

I could do it. And, I bet that Dave Cross could do it, too. In fact, I know HE could.

I know, I know… I’m using this terrible event to launch yet another “Shipping Container Extravaganza” on the media.

Yeah? So what of it? It’ll work. It’s fast, it’s strong, and it’s doable.

And when the current crisis becomes manageable and all those people go back to wherever they came from? You turn that existing complex into affordable housing units. Where I live, affordable housing is extremely HARD to find.

Okay, so I’ve gone on and one for hundreds of articles about how cool ISBU (intermodal steel building unit) shipping containers are.

I mean, for the last two years, I’ve been “writing myself blue in the face” trying to get people to realize that you don’t HAVE to live in “a wood or brick house or condo”, unless you WANT to.

There ARE alternatives.

For the last “30 some odd” years (since 1977), I’ve been teaching people to “recycle and repurpose” old ISBU shipping containers, to build strong, sustainable homes.

Sure… some are cabins, some are vacation homes, some are houses, and some are even “mansions”… but the song remains the same;

Like it or not… Container Homes are here to stay.

I cannot begin to tell you of the joy I get, to see a new family watching their ISBU home get “pieced together”.

As kid’s we all looked forward to the holidays, the festivities, and the presents. It was all about “the mystery in the box”. My new ISBU families are no different. It’s amazing and gratifying to see their eyes light up, as they watch their steel home get erected, right before their eyes.  These siding wrapped boxes become “home.”

And NO! I’m not “Santa.” I’m not THAT fat yet… Oy.

I’ve talked about visionary pals I have in the biz, other Corten Guru’s, guys like builder Dave Cross at SG Blocks, and architect Peter DeMaria at DeMaria Design.

Like me, these guys know that those big steel boxes are meant for a lot more than just filling with Chinese TVs headed across the seas, as they take the journey to your local Walmart.

We’ve dedicated huge chunks of our lives to teaching people to “look beyond the box”… by living in one.

The BOX is the prize, people.

It takes far less energy and manpower to turn an ISBU  Shipping Container that nobody wants (haven’t you seen them piled up to heaven, along the coastlines and railyards?) into a home, than it does to “recycle” the steel for re-use as a new TV chassis or Tonka Truck.

And, converting an ISBU Container into a livable home is cheaper than building a “conventional home”, by a long shot. Less labor, less waste, and less energy loss. That means that you can have one, for less than the average price of that stick built home, easily.

If people are telling you otherwise, they’re either lying, or they are doing it WRONG.

Because the end result of an ISBU based home is “a home made of steel”, you get a sturdy, stout, strong (get the idea) home, that is ready to take on whatever Mother Nature throws, and it’ll probably fair much better than that tract home you used to live in.

They don’t have to be “ugly”, and they don’t have to suggest that Mad Max and his cronies are going to terrorize your neighborhood. What the do have to be is safe, affordable, and energy efficient.

For you NEW readers… join Me, as I show you exactly how that is accomplished…

You’re going to be amazed. Seriously.

And for those of you who have been hanging around in my “living room” for all this time…

I think I have a few surprises up my sleeve for YOU, too…

Stay tuned.

And before you ask… NO! I don’t work for Dave Cross, or Peter DeMaria. I just know them as “men of integrity” that do as they believe, and not “as others do”. If you’re looking for a Container Solution (and I’m too much for you to deal with) I encourage you to look at them. Hard. This is the FIRST TEAM, people…

Okay, besides ME. 🙂

More later.

2 Responses to “A “Corten Cabin” contributes to Oil Crisis in Gulf! Film at 11pm!”

  1. Jennifer Lancey June 1, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Thanks for posting the article, was certainly a great read!

  2. becky June 2, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    Hey Al!!! Digging the new site design. Come up for air when you can…..

Comments are closed.