Affordable Housing comes in all shapes and sizes…

20 Jun

SPECIAL NEWS FLASH!!!

“Introduction to Container Homes & Buildings”

subtitled; “Contemplating Corten Castles”…

My NEW ISBU BOOK  about ISBU container homes and cabins is shipping!

Am I excited? You bet!

It addresses a lot of the pertinent issues, and includes several (and I mean SEVERAL) floorplan sets for ISBU homes in the 20′, 40′ and 48′ High Cube ISBU (Intermodal Steel Building Unit) range.

These are not “pie in the sky” homes, folks.

Nor are they “fantasy” budget busters.

These are homes that you can build with your own hands!

“Introduction to Container Homes & Buildings”

is in PDF format, and the price is a low – low $11.95.

It’s to the point,  MAC, KINDLE, iPad and PC friendly… and will get you started down the Corten Path!

Order your copy RIGHT NOW!  You’re gonna love it! I promise!

This Book  will NOT be available when our Corten Manifesto… “Container Home Building” is released. And I’ll point out that “CHB” is going to be considerably more expensive, at an estimated cost of at least $75. We’re talking “reference book” here folks…

See that big blue book icon on the right of your screen? That’s the ticket!

What are you waiting for?

That said:

I’ve been talking to a partner in Kansas lately.

I don’t know why, exactly, as every time I think about him, I start having nightmares of Dorothy in a Corten Cabin, falling on my head… 🙂

He’s longing for a Corten Cocoon of his very own, and he’s conspiring with a guy who builds strawbale homes…

Okay, he probably didn’t build THIS one., but I would…  And then I’d probably set it on fire, in a freak Plasma Cutter “accident.” 🙂

… Anyway, as near as I can tell,  they are already plotting and scheming… dreaming of the days they’ll spend, happily grinding away on Corten steel, and burning each other with Plasma Cutters.

One of the things I’m seeing right now is a huge availability of 20′ High Cube ISBUs. Around here, the land was covered with them, as homeowners used them to hold their precious belongings in their yards, as they rebuilt their homes. And now that those homes are mostly rebuilt (or still waiting on insurance settlements), a lot of those empty boxes are available, quite affordably.

It’s given me pause to think about using them to establish “wings” of Corten comfort. Say, three of them nestled up alongside each other (to form 20’x24′ rooms), in wings of three or four, creating a big open room in the middle. Picture a big T or X-shaped house.

THAT middle space you just created is just a concrete slab and a roof. It’s essentially created very inexpensively.

Now, once you’ve done that, put your kitchen, bathroom, and laundry room in one wing, and then put bedrooms in two of the others, and you have a two or even three bedroom house, fast, fast, fast…

You know me, so it’s a standing seam metal roof… SSMR roof on Structural Insulated Panels (SIPS), and extend that roof out in overhangs to form big covered decks in the corners of that 3 or 4 winged house.  Go out at least 16′ x 16′. You’ll see why later.

Next year (after you’ve saved some more cash and scrounged some more salvaged materials to use)… you could add  on to the OUTSIDE of those wings (I’m talking about those “outdoor decks” now) by enclosing them with easily constructed 8′ walls, and Hurricane Door sets. Hey, they already have an insulated roof, right?

Now you have an office, a media room, more bedrooms, you name it. For the price of a few walls and some salvaged doors.

Want to know more about it?

It’s just ONE of the designs highlighted in the new Book!

“Introduction to Container Homes & Buildings”

Get it now!

Stay tuned.


13 Responses to “Affordable Housing comes in all shapes and sizes…”

  1. dustin June 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    Hi Alex,

    I was doing some researching on spray foam insulation and found that there is now a green alternative to traditional SFI technology. Two companies now manufacture a Soy-based Spray Foam insulation. I thought the readers should know about this alternative which will make their container projects even greener. Contact Urethane Soy Systems Co or Emega Technologies of Lancaster, Ohio to find a dealer. Check these links.

    http://www.soyol.com/
    http://www.emegabuild.com/
    http://www.thegreenestdollar.com/2009/02/soy-based-foam-insulation-what-it-is-and-why-you-should-use-it/

    • renaissanceronin June 21, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

      Hey Dustin,

      The only thing I have against Soy based foam formulas is that rodents and bugs still try to eat them. Aside from the increased costs (ironically going “GREEN” always seems to cost more “GREEN”)IF you can place your insulation is a place where you guarantee that nothing can get at it, the soy based foam formula’s seem like a good deal. I haven’t used enough of them to be able to say that as a whole, it’s a good bet.

      • James June 21, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

        Hello renaissanceronin.

        I’m the visitor from Spring, Texas that pops up on your web traffic identifier on the side of your webpage.

        I believe you are an incredibly talented, unique, and artistic individual who manages to seemlessly blend style and substance in your Shipping Container Homes.

        I am very interested in both the Report and the Book you are about to come out with. However, I am a bit confused on the method of payment. When you say it only costs $9.95 for the report and only $49.95 for the book (which I will happily buy for the wealth of information you provide which NO ONE else on the market has come out with yet), I am unsure of where to pay.

        Am I allowed to pay over the PayPal link on the side of the Page? Can I pay for both the Report and the Book together? Forgive my misunderstandings, but I am used to only purchasing items off of Amazon over the internet. I did not see a button to request to order the Report or the Book. Do I just type “For Book and Report” over the purpose box inside the PayPal Donation website it automatically redirects to?

        • renaissanceronin June 21, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

          Hi James,

          AND I am the idiot savant that is screaming “ISBU” to anyone that will listen! 🙂

          Thank you for the praise, but honestly, I’m just trying to help families build homes. WE have to band together and help each other, as times get harder. If we don’t, who will?

          The button for the Paypal link to the book is at the top right of your screen, and it says BUY MY NEW BOOK right on top of it. It’s up there in the sidebar alongside the posts.

          I’d thought to imbed the button in each post that talks about the book, but for some reason, WordPress is defying me if it’s own treachery.

          That translates to:

          I don’t know how to make it work. I’m still working on that. 🙂

          Now, ISBUs? I KNOW how to make THEM work… In my sleep.. Oy Vay!

          And I want YOU to, as well. The more you know, the more successful you’ll be. And, THAT is my reward.

          Again, Thanks for all the praise. You made my day!!

          Ronin

  2. Jamie Northrup June 29, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I bought it. I liked it! Good read. I learned a lot and now I feel more motivated to go out and research more. Ready and waiting for the Big Book.

  3. Craig Moorhouse July 3, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    I share the wish for more d.i.y. information on ISO shipping container homes. I explore some ideas for such homes on my blog http://putterordiemyblog.wordpress.com/
    It’s just an avid amateurs effort but I am hoping that I might throw out some ideas that may be useful.
    Craig

  4. geoffrey fulton July 4, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    With the greatest respect, we have many years experience with container based architecture. We invite you to look at examples on our website where new projects are being added every month! http://www.fultonsalomon.com

    • renaissanceronin July 4, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

      Hi Geoffrey!

      I hope that you enjoy the book!

      Readers:
      This firm is doing some really interesting stuff, using ISBUs. While they are in Australia, thy are reaching out EVERYWHERE, even (gasp!) into MY backyard! If you want to see more “Corten Coolness” check out their website.

      Again, that URL is http://www.fultonsalomon.com

      Man… Even the “big shots” of ISBUs buy my book. Who knew? 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Want to Build a Shipping Container Home? Buy the Book! | The Greenest Dollar - June 21, 2010

    […] many of you MIGHT not know that my good friend Alex Klein (many of you know him as Ronin) is one of the world’s most experienced builders with ISBU […]

  2. Ok, Our First ISBU E-Book Is Shipping! | The Greenest Dollar - June 28, 2010

    […] we finally get our book done this weekend. Introduction to Container Homes and Buildings is finally done, at almost 100 pages! […]

  3. Tiny House Design , Archive » Introduction to Container Homes & Buildings - July 2, 2010

    […] ebook is just under 100 pages and costs $9.95. Visit Alex’s blog or  The Greenest Dollar to learn more about Introduction to Container Homes & Buildings. […]

  4. Like it or not – Shipping Container Homes are coming to a lot near you! « The Life and Times of a "Renaissance Ronin" - July 20, 2010

    […] Introduction to Container Homes and Buildings […]

  5. The Housing Crisis is OVER!?! « The Bubba Effect - October 6, 2010

    […] Housing Crisis is OVER!?! I write another blog (The Life and Times of a Renaissance Ronin) that documents the conversion of Shipping Containers (ISBUs) into affordable, sustainable […]

Comments are closed.