The Wagon is Broken…

3 Nov

Today we begin to rebuild America.

The voters have spoken and new courses are being charted. Time will determine if the right choices were made…

…but in the meantime a lot of us are still flapping from the handlebars trying to figure out what to do next.

Me? I believe in doing what I can for myself and mine – without waiting for “Uncle” to come in and screw it all up.

Yeah… others are a little less “antagonistic” about their views of Big Government. So sue me.

In America, anyone with half a brain knows that “the wagon is broken and it needs new axles”.

So, the smart family just “rebuilds the wagon” using whatever will work, when times are hard.

On a blog I read religiously (um… okay, perhaps “spiritually” is a better word) a “blog buddy” of mine made the same point I make when talking to new families looking to live an “unchained life”.

I don’t know Owen personally, but we’ve exchanged emails several times. He’s a smart guy and it’s clear that he CARES about his people.

I’ve mentioned him several times here on RR. For those of you who read the blog, Owen is an “Earthbag guy” and he’s a sharp pencil in a box full of broken crayons, to be sure.

Owen says:

“Thousands of families who have built affordable homes, cash up front, made of earthbags, straw bales, cordwood, cob and rammed tires are not in danger of losing their homes in the current mortgage crisis.”

(Editor’s note: He left out ISBU housing, but I won’t hold it against him. The conditions he so aptly describes still hold true.)

“And if you include affordable adobe, bamboo and thatch homes built worldwide, over a third of the world’s houses have avoided the mortgage crisis.

In general, the people who build these low cost, alternative homes are often the same people who garden and grow fruit trees, raise small livestock and/or live on farms and, in many cases, utilize renewable energy. This includes many millions of homes with passive solar design, earth-bermed and underground homes, wind and water generators, and photovoltaics. Less obvious, but just as important, are the countless homes who utilize rocket stoves, Lorena stoves, methane digesters, vegetable oil, rice hull stoves or one of the other myriad low cost, sustainable cooking and heating systems.”

Owen points out that you can read the entire article for free at the  Mother Earth News Blog.

You see, Owen has “mainstreamed”. I just hope all that “fame and fortune” doesn’t go to his head.

Building an affordable home is just a PART of the program.

By investing in your family (starting in your own yard) you invest in the future. And not just the future for YOU and yours, you enhance the future for everyone.  I believe this, and I know that Owen does too.

Go read his post. It’s a good one.

I’m cutting this short, I have to write Owen some “hate-mail” about neglecting to mention Corten Castles when he gets up on that soapbox of his!! 😉

Stay tuned.

Today is my Birthday. Usually, it’s a “cursed” day. I don’t know why, my luck just runs that way, I guess, but:

This is the best birthday present I ever, ever received:

From the luckiest-girl-alive department, the BBC is reporting today that an 18 month old toddler fell from a 6 story building, bounced off an awning and was caught… wait for it… by a doctor who was passing by.

She was completely unharmed, she shed a little tear and then she quickly calmed down.

G-d is good.

2 Responses to “The Wagon is Broken…”

  1. clark November 5, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    Happy Birthday Ronin (better late than not…) You are one of the few of us (in the blogoshere) who is directly affecting the world in a positive way (whether they like it or not! lol).
    Good work!

    • Renaissance Ronin November 5, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

      Hey Clark,

      I’m “positive” that you’re nuts!

      Nobody listens to me. I’m just another pariah wandering the woods…

      Heck, I suspect my mom tied meat around my neck so the dog would play with me!

      But thanks for the B-day wishes!

Comments are closed.