FREE Land! Get Yer FREE Land!

8 Nov

I have this pal in Michigan… wait that’s not it… Um… Wisconsin. πŸ˜‰

Hard to believe, but yeah, I have a few “friends”.

This particular miscreant spends most of his time keeping the peace and keeping “all the Indians on the Reservation” but when he’s not being “a boy in blue”, he’s trying to actually plant “the seeds of ISBU Goodness” everywhere he goes.

And Milwaukee is better for having him, let me tell you. They could use a few more like him.

Recently, he sent me this article and I thought I’d share with the tribe.

You see, I get asked almost DAILY about “where a good place to put an ISBU Home is”.

And I’m constantly telling people that one of the first considerations is land COST.

Ryan evidently (actually) listens to me preach, because he’s here to “testify”, lemme tell you…

So, thanks to Ryan, I give you…

6 Places Where Land is FREE

via Curbly Recent Posts – – on 10/26/10

Yes. You read that right. There are STILL places in the U.S. where land is free. And, yes, there is a catch. You have to agree to build a house (or plop a mobile home or, sometimes, a business) on the land. The concept of giving away free land isn’t new, as back in the day the government used it as a means to settle the far corners of the country. So what far corners are we talking about today? Here ya go:

1. Marquette, Kansas – – will give you a lot if you agree to erect a 1,000 s.f. house upon it. If you dream of having a house with a BIG garden, the city will throw in an adjacent lot if you ask nicely.

2. Atwood, Kansas –Β  – and the surrounding environs of Herndon and McDonald are offering 4 – 110′ x 130′ lots for free.

3. Elwood, Nebraska –Β  – have lots available for ‘a minimal fee’.

4. Marne, Iowa –Β  – is offering up some lovely lots for, yes, free.

5. Muskegon, Michigan – – is giving way land to businesses who are willing to set up shop in their community. The size of the acreage depends upon how many employees the business foresees hiring.

6. Camden, Maine – – is offering up 3.5 acres for ‘the right business that can create good jobs’.

For more information about these land freebies, check out Wallet Pop. And if you have heard tell of municipalities willing to give away land, please post your findings below!

Thanks, Ryan… Good looking out!

Stay tuned!

Coming soon: New Designs and NEW Voices!


Ain’t I a stinker? πŸ˜‰

6 Responses to “FREE Land! Get Yer FREE Land!”

  1. Madrigorne November 8, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    Um…Ronin? Milwaukee is in Wisconsin… but there is a Ferry that goes from Milwaukee to Muskeegan…

    • Renaissance Ronin November 8, 2010 at 11:43 am #

      Hi Madrigorne…

      Um… Yeah, that’s what I get for writing posts (and then even “proofreading” them) when I’m half asleep.

      Thanks for pointing it out. Gawd knows, I’m not exactly Einstein lately… πŸ™‚

      Post corrected.

      Sorry, Ryan for your recent move to Michigan. πŸ˜‰

  2. Jeremiah November 8, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    There’s a reason the land is free….looking at a map of these “cities” (i.e. less than a one horse town) you’re about 500 miles from nowhere in every direction. I’m surprised google even had a record of these towns. :\

    • Renaissance Ronin November 8, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

      Jeremiah,

      Don’t be clouding the issue with facts, huh? πŸ˜‰

      The point is that there are opportunities out there, you just have to hunt for them. And, one of them might just be a good fit for your family. πŸ™‚

      And we all know that “Google is everywhere”. How else could they have done that “drive-by wireless data theft” thing? πŸ˜‰

  3. Juan Moduluxe November 8, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Hi! As a fellow builder in Houston and the Texas Coast, I found your blog with great delight! I am in touch with Vic now in Houston and thought you might find some of my gee-whiz stuff interesting. FWIW, there is a City of Houston Program for $1 lots (granted, in pretty cracked-out neighborhoods) as long as you put an “affordable” house on it (to them, affordable means 2 br for $150k all in). I’m starting a 900sf house in Galveston that will be LEED gold for less than $100K. Not on my website yet, since it’s all top secret…

    • Renaissance Ronin November 8, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

      Juan, welcome to the madness!

      As Vic will tell you, I used to live in Houston and I know some of those neighborhoods where those lots are. It’s like the land dilemma in Detroit. You CAN get “nearly free land”, but it’s in war zones.

      I’ve got a project in the works for Galveston to (we’re in pre-design now), but we won’t fly the LEED “airline”. Too much admin and cost, for the return in a small dwelling. Self-builders just don’t want the extra madness. That said, I’d love to see details of your LEED GOLD build when you get it into the ground. I bet we could all learn something from what you’re doing!

      Keep us posted!

      Ronin

Comments are closed.