Building is all about the tools…

14 Dec

Okay,

This is a little off-beat for RR, but hey, it’s about tools. I love tools.

A HUGE part of what we teach families here on RR is self-reliance and self-responsibility.

I want you to take more responsibility to for HOW you live and HOW your family deals with things outside your front porch.

And it’s that time of year again.

You know what time I’m talking about… and so does your significant other, so you better keep reading. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m NOT talking about Bowl Games, or long, luxurious spells sitting in front of the tube eating nachos and drinking a frosty cold beverage while the world rolls by outside your front windows.

It’s time to plan that GARDEN.

You know the one… Not the begonias, or the daisies… The REAL garden that is going to help your family get through the coming bouts of inflation and produce price gouging that is assuredly still to come.

And you’d better start doing it NOW, if you want to insure that you’ll actually GET any couch time watching the games.

Growers are telling me that the seed stockpile is gonna get “hammered hard and early” in 2011.

As in; “It’s gonna be a seed-slinging ghost town after about Jan 15th for the seed suppliers.”

Conservative estimates are that more people will plant produce gardens this year (in part to offset rising produce prices) than ever before.

So, if we want parsley, or parsnips, or even potatoes, we better start planning now.

On my other blog, THE BUBBA EFFECT, I’m talking about this in greater detail. And I’m showing off new tools and techniques that will make life easier.

Doing a job is all about the tools, right?

One of our loyal RR readers has developed a gardening tool that nobody should be without. Seriously.

I have one. IN fact, I’m going to use it to death.ย  This really IS one of those tools that everyone should have in the toolbox.

No, it’s NOT a freakin Sushi press… although that would be pretty cool, too.

It’s called;

The SoilCube Tool.

From the Soilcube website;

Using soil cubes is the most radical thing you can do to obtain immediate and long lasting success in your garden. By using soil cubes, you will be able to control the early plant development, move them to the garden when ready, and have no consequence for having done so. The seedlings will thrive and have you will have a dramatic increase in viable plants in contrast to one who is planting seed directly into the prepared garden beds or rows.

The Soil Cube Tool makes it possible for the average gardener to access the power of massive food production made possible by seed propagation in soil blocks.

Essentially, by using this tool and premixed (as in YOU premix it easily using GOOD QUALITY materials!) potting soil materials, you end the “I need more peat pots, egg cartons, toilet paper rollsย  and other stuff…” – ย  cycle forever.

Your SOIL becomes the pot.

And the guy responsible for this little gem has not only provided a discount for the Holiday Season, he’s also sponsored a Christmas giveaway for RR readers, running from now until December 18th.

The winner will get one of these beauties, for his/her very own.ย  The winner will be chosen at random, and all you have to do to enter is respond to this post with an “I want one” kinda comment.

Convince us that you’re the “prodigal child” to own this handy little hunk of garden salvation and then pray to the produce gawds that you get “the lucky kiss on the noggin…”

Here’s the skinny on the giveaway;

You get ONE comment per email address PER day to THIS POST, from now until midnight on Saturday Dec 18th.

Want some BONUS entries? You can ALSO do any of these, to stack the deck in your favor!

2. Spread the word about this contest on Twitter.

Come back to this post and leave a comment, with your Twitter ID, so I can follow you back. You can spread the word once per day on Twitter, but make sure you leave a new comment each day with your Twitter link.

3. Spread the word about this contest on Facebook.

Leave a comment on this post letting me know you spread the word to your own friends.

And thatโ€™s it! Good luck to everyone!

The winner will be chosen by drawing on December 19th and you’ll get an email that evening, telling you that you’ve won.

Your future is in the hands of a sticky fingered little terrorist of a three year old. He’s gonna reach in and grab a number and voila!ย  After I pry the number out of his mouth (or someplace far worse)…

Somebody is gonna win a very cool prize. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For those of you who don’t win… Hah! Better luck next time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

If you’re not the lucky winner, you can STILL get your Soil Cube Tool before Christmas (at a BIG discount), if you order before Monday the 20th.

They make great gifts, and trust me when I tell you that once you’ve used one, you’ll wonder why you never had one before!

So… ready, set, go!

December 19th, 2010:

Weโ€™ve been running a Christmas Soil Cube Tool giveaway.

It ended last night (December 18th) at midnight.

And the winner is:

Walter Daniels.

Walter, watch your email. You should get a confirmation from the Soil Cube Guru, to arrange the delivery!

Congrats, Walter! Happy Holidays!

13 Responses to “Building is all about the tools…”

  1. Allison Fox December 14, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Pick me! Pick me! I want one!!! It’ll come in handy when I start my garden up again this spring. . .

  2. Tammy C December 14, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    One of these would be amazing for me to use in our garden. Thank you!

  3. Sahid Miller December 14, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    I want one… and so does this George Washington if you catch my drift ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Steve Spence December 16, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    I’d really like one. My 30,000 plus readers will love to see a video of me using one.

    • Renaissance Ronin December 16, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

      Um… I’ve seen you work. Nobody wants to see that! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Good luck!

  5. Brad December 16, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    Yes please!

  6. byron December 16, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Very cool. As much as I’d like to see a video of Steve using one (with 29,999+ of our friends) I’d like to be using one more ๐Ÿ˜€

    Can it repel the stupid neighbors’ cows? (and i’m not calling the cows stupid)

    • Renaissance Ronin December 16, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

      Have you seen Steve work? The sight of it actually kills plants… ๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s worse than black thumb! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Good Luck!

      • Jim December 16, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

        Hey Alex,
        Interesting product. I wish Clayton well with his new product and much success from being promoted by one of your high integrity. Don’t put me in the drawing for the free one as I would much prefer you give it to someone who otherwise may not be able to afford one. I will look into talking with Clayton about our store being a dealer for him. Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year to you and your family.
        Happy Preparedness Trails,
        Jim

  7. walter daniels December 16, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    I’d like to have one for when I start a garden. I also put copy on FaceBook.

  8. David Komet December 17, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    entry

  9. david December 20, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    i want one too!

    • Renaissance Ronin December 20, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

      Um… Contest is over. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      You can get your own Soil Cube Tool straight from the Mad Scientist that makes them, here:

      SOILCUBE TOOLS!!!

      And, they’re still on sale thru the Holidays!

      What are ya waiting for?

Comments are closed.