I’ll be home… after Christmas…

26 Dec

WARNING: “Off Topic” Post.

May your travels home after the holidays be safe, trouble-free… and relatively sane.

Talk about mixed messages…

How do I teach my kids that it’s not acceptable for them to be touched by strangers, while some j@ck@ss gropes their mother in the airport for having the audacity of wanting to simply board a flight? WHILE I’m standing there, incapable (by law) of acting on my feelings and punching them in the face repeatedly, no less?

This is getting out of control.

PS. Did you know that  in 2008, 465 TSA “officers” were fired for theft according to  the New York Times?

That’s over 1% of the total number of people who work for them – and that’s just the ones who got caught. Most of them were caught during and after the holidays.

Class act, huh? So it just makes sense that we’d empower them to do things to us that not even cops can do, without “probable cause”. Oy.

BTW: In 2009 the theft firings at TSA nearly doubled.

It’s that time again… Watch your stuff, huh?

Thank you – Brasscheck.

2 Responses to “I’ll be home… after Christmas…”

  1. clark January 1, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Hey, thanks for reminding me why I have cut myself off from all: TV/cable news shows, public affairs posts, and any and all Current Events sites!
    (Not that what you describe is not true and bad six ways from Sunday), but worse than the fact of this new level of intrusiveness of the State is the reminder of the methods used to get people to throw their liberties (personal and cival) out the window.

    I am referring to the near total and completely pervasive environment of sensationalized quote ‘reporting’ unquote. Most of TV is simply a platform for efforts to make people anxious and/or fearful. (Fearful people are so easy to control).

    And this fear mongering is so very effective. Even if you do not respond with fear, they still get to you.
    Back when I would watch news show, I invariable ended up spending the rest of my day thinking, “Did they really say/do/try that? No! no way… that would be crazy”

    I will go further and state that this reaction would be the natural response of a normal person to todays news stories.

    So I stopped watching. No more TV shows. No more internet news sites, no more newspapers. Cut right off. (I don’t even bother watching the weather, lol! Tell me about the culture of sensationalism and the weather…by last count there were 3 Storms of the Century in the last 2 years)
    Cut off, put away!
    And the world goes on without me! And I function reasonably well at my job, which has to do with people and not current events.
    And you know something? I seem to have more time and more energy and (with less stress) for my family and my work.

    All because I got away from the people who seem to want me ‘on edge’ all the time.

    Good ‘off topic’ Post!

    And I will state the obvious: with less stress and more energy I can spend more time at places like this blog, where constructive things are done.
    Fortunately there are still places like this and (Friend of the Doctrine, Mel’s) blog Spatula in the Wilderness where people are simply being good/helpful/amusing.
    Keep up the good work.

    • Renaissance Ronin January 1, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      Hey Clark,

      While I think a large portion of America is tuning out…

      It appears to even the shallowest of us that more and more of our liberties are being slowly and systematically taken away, as we move closer and closer to something other than the “dreams of the Republic” that we were all raised to cherish.

      This TSA Madness is just the tip of the iceberg. It goes more to my thoughts about “what the American public will actually allow themselves to be infected with” as we slowly lose more and more control over our lives to “empty suits” on the Beltway.

      This infection trickles down, and it’s used as a model by “other civic leaders” to take more and more control away from us.

      And I suppose I’m sensitive to it, as the ISBU Homes I help families build are a victim of this type of “intrusive thinking”…

      “You must do as we say and not as we do…”

      So, that said. I’m going to bring it up from time to time. I don’t want you to be afraid. I want you to be AWARE.

      Hell, truth be told… I want you to be pissed off that these jugheads even THINK they can take that much control of our own lives away from us.

      I want to make you think about not only WHERE you live, but HOW you live.

      IMHO: As times get harder (and I fear that they will) we’re going to face some “serious change” involving many sacrifices yet untold… and in order to do that, we have to start clearing out the unnecessary crap that will slow our recovery down.

      I want you to move forward successfully. I also want you to be able to identify the challenges… long before they become obstacles in your yard.

      Thanks for the comment!

Comments are closed.