That’s a weird lookin dawg ya got there…

14 Jan

We’re working on projects and trying to stay warm.

Makes me wish I was spending more time with a welder and less time with a keyboard, right about now. It’s like seriously cold.

If you read the blog (I know you do regularly, right?) you know that reclaiming space is important to me. I’m talking to people about dropping boxes down on a foundation and  spanning between them with roofs –  to make pool houses, garages, even homes.

I was recently talking to a pal and he sent me this photograph of a farm that could be right down the road from any of us…

They needed a place to hunker down a pair of burly behemoths.  Folks, it doesn’t get much easier than this:

Image Contributed by: D. Komet - photographer unknown

Take this same configuration, drop it on a slab and close in those ends with something as simple as roll down – insulated garage doors… and you have a shelter…

With a few more steps, you have a HOUSE.

For pennies… on the dollar.

Reclaim, Recycle, Reuse, Repurpose.

Now… Chant it 150 times, until it sinks in… 😉

Stay tuned.

Note: If this is your barn… or if you’re the one who took this great photo:

Contact me ASAP and I’ll definitely credit you for it! We love what you’re doing!

4 Responses to “That’s a weird lookin dawg ya got there…”

  1. Lisa January 14, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    That is such a practical, frugal, and time-saving project! I wish I had thought of it a couple of years ago when my brother’s farm was hit by a tornado. As it was, it took them months to have everything rebuilt.

    • Renaissance Ronin January 14, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      That’s what I’m talkin’ about! 🙂

      Think of it… IF you got pounded by a hurricane or a tornado, you could even throw a tent or (gasp!) an RV under there, as you REBUILT the abode…

      Instant shelter. And you could easily build it in a week.

  2. Jeremiah January 14, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Reminds me of a design I am working on. 😉 I actually just did a little thumbnail sketch for how this could be turned, quickly, into a home with your idea of the insulated roll-up garage doors. I’ll write it up tonight and send to you.
    Awesome photo. Love the sign. “Shindig”….cracks me up!

  3. clark January 15, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Not so much for the tornados up here in New England, but if you want to talk about cold…

    Will spare everyone the “it’s so cold that…”

    (you know now that we are on the subject of cold)…my favorite ‘cold’ story comes from my days on a commercial fishing boat. In winter offshore, when it got cold and windy, the spray (from the boat crashing through waves) would freeze in mid-air, so you would have like a hail storm (only tiny, tiny hail stones going sideways).
    Ah, the good old days.

    Your work ethic on this blog is kinda impressive, gutgw.

Comments are closed.