The Corten Corno-freakin-copia!

20 Feb

I’m still getting email telling me that you can’t really “modify” or even live in a shipping container.

I mean, beyond actually doing it… with my own hands…

I’ve been writing articles… about building homes with ISBUs for a decade at least.

I’ve been writing this blog… (and contributing to others) for more than three years.

I’ve written a book…  (Introduction to Container Homes and Buildings) and I’m currently writing two more on the subject.

One of them is even a freakin’ tabletop book about decades of finished ISBU projects!

So, you’d think the idiots would read a post or two before they attacked me, but…

Seriously, mixed into my hate mail is about twenty emails a week telling me that:

  1. It’s cheaper to build with wood.
  2. No one but an IDIOT would live in a metal box and,
  3. I’m a criminal for suggesting it and then teaching people how to do it.

And, my family ancestry is getting assailed pretty thoroughly too… 😉

So, just for laughs, here’s a few “idiots” for you;

This one is TOTALLY  DIY: (Pay attention you “fall-backers”… )

This guy is building a “Corten Castle” and I’m not kidding:

Part 1

Part 2

Here’s a company that’s building “Corten Cabins”:

And you won’t find that crazy looking Ty Penning-what’s-his-name on here, but…

Extreme MakeoverISBU Style

So if you’re a naysayer, or even worse.. a stalker… You can freakin bite me.

6 Responses to “The Corten Corno-freakin-copia!”

  1. john PARKER February 20, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    my question about the first one is does he/she own the land? its really serene, but i dont have 300k+ to buy a couple of acres on the ocean. i dont know of anyone that does right now?

  2. uforiax February 21, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    MAN ALIVE!…I do so love reading the ronins posts…thanks for providing a priceless service to us, your followers out here…hoping I can still get a chance to work with you sometime soon, ronin.

    have a good one.

  3. Jeremiah February 21, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    Don’t worry about the naysayers. Negative criticism is just fuel to push forward and continue to show examples of how it IS possible to build with something other than 2x4s, plywood and vinyl siding. There are naysayers for every experimental/new technology out there. It’s just a fact of life that people fear what they don’t understand. I say take some of your own builds and post them here. Show em and tell em.

  4. Jay February 21, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Where is the Corten Castle? If it’s in Alberta I want to go see it.

  5. Trey C. February 21, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Hey Ronin, nice post. I loved the video on that gigantic container home. Awesome.

    Your posts are a constant motivator for me to pay-off my house. Thanks for all you do.

    Your Avid Fan,

    Trey C.

  6. Carly March 15, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Tell them to kiss your rump. I don’t get the negativity! People really ought to take the time to explore the wealth of information available at their fingertips, if only they would read. I’m in the process of converting a 40ft container into my office and got inspiration from your blog. Just do you and keep those zany, yet insightful posts coming.

Comments are closed.