Of Castles and Cabins – Made of Corten…

3 Mar

People ask me why anyone would spend the amount of time I do, helping other families build homes out of cast-off metal boxes.

And sometimes, I wonder the same thing…

But it’s email like this that brightens my day and reminds me that if we all work together to make our families “better”, if we all take more self-responsibility by exhibiting more self-reliance… the world gets better as a by-product.

Every family deserves a roof over their head.

I don’t care if you’re in Bangkok or Bakersfield, our children need a safe place to grow up, strong and ready to take on whatever world we leave them with…

It doesn’t have to be a “Corten Castle”. It can be something as simple (and even elegant) as a “Corten Cabin”.

I could look at Paul Stankey's "Corten Cabin" all day!

But be it Castle or Cabin, built out of strong Corten Steel, it’ll do everything it can to kick Mother Nature’s butt, when she goes on a tirade.

And, while I’m still breathing, I’m going to do everything I can to help families achieve that.

John F. says:

I read your book today and found the whole thing really inspiring. I’m just hoping I’m not a complete chicken, and can use that information some day…


6:07 PM Mar 1, 2011

Hi John,

Thanks for the kind words.

You CAN do it. You just need to keep it manageable and take small steps.

These are really just metal modules that you “pre-build” and then assemble later.

The beauty of ISBUs is that you can start small and then continue to add on over time (making sure first that your design allows it).

Pick a project that isn’t going to drive you in over your head (like maybe a small backyard studio or guest house that can be integrated later into  a larger structure) and you can actually teach yourself the skills required – inexpensively and at your own pace.

You CAN do it. It’s your desire and dedication that will define you!

Best Wishes!

To all of you.

4 Responses to “Of Castles and Cabins – Made of Corten…”

  1. Danette Smith & Raymond Decary (Montreal) March 3, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Hi there,
    I’m a ‘long time ” fan !! Does this go straight to you or does it get posted???

    Thanks…D

  2. john PARKER March 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    saving all my pennies to buy enough land so i can get to cutting and welding 🙂
    my family thinks im an idoit. thats another positive to equation.

    • Renaissance Ronin March 4, 2011 at 2:32 am #

      Many of us who live for the smell of a plasma cutter in the morning… are cast as “idiots” to those we share the gene pool with.

      The was I see it… WE evolved, they are still stuck in the primordial ooze.

      Welcome to the club. Your “ISBU Idiot” membership card in in the mail… 😉

  3. Shipping Container Homes March 7, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Hiya Ronin! I’ve just followed a link here from The Greenest Dollar. Having a quick look around your site, and I think it’s amazing. Certainly a fantastic resource for those wanting to build their own shipping container homes.

    You should definitely carry on your blog!

    Ben.

Comments are closed.