Moving Metal Monsters…

10 Mar

Moving ISBUs in the New Age;

Oy. I’m getting grief again from the naysayers. Again. Freakin’ AGAIN.

Look, here’s the deal. Dad always said that: “In order to stand out, first you have to stand up.”

So, I say what I think and I back it up with whatever is required.  I am usually going against the grain and I get some lumps, but I leave some… too. Hey, I admit that I’m a “Maverick”. I don’t run with crowds, I don’t just “buy into the party line” and I frequently “confront authority” if I think it’s time someone stood up. I have scars and skeletons, just like everyone else.

I come from a family of “The Fierce”… US Marines.

And, many of you know that I’m “the only Jew in Mississippi”, at least it seems that way sometimes. My lumps have lumps.

But, I don’t get intimidated. I don’t care if you’re from an ISBU Group/Association/Mutual Admiration Society/Club, or you have “lawyers”. If I think you have your head up your (you-know-what), I’m going to say so. So, don’t expect me to kowtow, cave, two-step,  or start waving “corporate flags” just because you start calling me names or attacking my family ancestry, okay?

That said, lately my mail is running about four to one, hate and spewing.

  • I’m getting grief because I’m not concentrating the blog solely on ISBUs (referring to the recent earthquake and disaster relief in Christchurch, NZ, for example).
  • I’m getting grief from Builders and developers who claim I’m personally killing the economy by advising families to build their own homes.
  • I’m getting grief from people who are certain that I’m teaching people to live in big metal ovens, likened to “Mad Max” crematoriums. (The inference to the horrors of Jewish History isn’t lost on me…)

Now, they’re saying that there aren’t any ISBU surpluses because;

“There aren’t any ships in existence capable of plying the brine, carrying “all those excess” ISBUs for anyone to carve up into your idiotic deathtraps.”

And wait, there’s more;

“Since there are so few ships capable of carrying this kind of cargo, there can’t be any extra boxes. Ronin, you are full of crap.”

(quote/unquote)

Gawd, apparently there are a lot of morons in the world and frankly… I’m getting kinda tired of them singling out MY blog.

So, this is an “open letter” to all the naysayers and morons who have been hammering me lately with ridiculous email.

You know who you are…

I’m sorry, I just have to say it;

Some of you naysayers are just stupid. I can forgive ignorance, but it has to hurt to live in a gene pool that shallow. Please, PLEASE… don’t reproduce, huh? The world has enough idiots.

First, Anyone who has ever taken a drive along the coast in any major seaport can see the evidence of what I’m talking about with their own two eyes, if they just take the blinders off.

Second, at any given time, there are literally hundreds of thousands of these containers in transit, being carried like remoras or lampreys across the Seven Seas. It’s a twenty day trip from China to England, for example. And the route gets hammered, virtually non-stop.

Third, there is so much demand that shipyards are pushing the very boundaries of shipping ports, trying to build the largest ships possible to stuff with TVs and MP3 players headed to Walmart and points beyond.

Fourth, consider the one-sided trade balance in the US. We get, but we don’t SEND. So, the boxes (which are cheaper to reproduce than actually retrieve) end up sitting empty for LONG periods of time before they just “go away” to get carved up by “mad scientists” like ME.

Fifth, all you have to do is turn on your cable TV and look at what is being built. They do have TVs in your part of Mayberry, right? It’s the big squarish box that talks to you when you’re spending your pennies buying all those cosmetics (probably designed to camouflage your genetic deficiencies) on the Home Shopping Channel.

Oy. And wait, there’s more;

I know you’re gonna have to really stretch your brain cell (singular) to get your head around this, but…

A new Container Ship is being crafted by Daewoo in South Korea.

At $190 million dollars a copy, this over 400m long vessel will dwarf those that have come before.

This container ship (larger than any ever built before) will carry 18,000 Shipping Containers at a time. 18,000.

Man, my back hurts just thinking about this number.

The next largest ship being used today, the Emma Maersk (and I think that there is only one of them in that configuration as I type this) is capable of carting just over 15,000 containers around the globe.

This NEW “Triple E class” vessel will be the largest vessel ever built ANYWHERE, I’m told.

(Anybody know how large the largest US Naval Aircraft Carrier is?)

We’re talking about a ship so large that you could build a hockey stadium, a football stadium, and a basketball stadium into it and still have room left over… to haul TV Sets.

You could build a small city inside it. EASY.

“Mad Max meets the Med”… I can’t wait!

Where was I? Oh yeah…

The NEW ship is BEING BUILT as part of a 10 ship order, with 20 more vessels optioned on the back end.

And, they’ve learned a few things since building their last “Corten Collosus“.

The new vessel will be extremely energy efficient and I’m hearing numbers like “a 20% reduction in operation requirements and fuel”. More boxes, less fuel. That’s all good, right?

And for all you “Carbon Junkies”, check this out:

The first ten ships are being built “for sure” according to sources I have and they’ll be plying the high seas by 2013. I’m told that they’ll finish the first run of ten vessels in 2015.

(It’s hard for me to even imagine the scope of a shipyard capable of building that many “monumental” vessels in such a short time. I have to hand it to the Koreans!)

The guys I spoke to are telling me that the “optioned” vessels are already “being carefully considered” and will probably begin construction in 2015.

This means that if all these Corten Carriers get built and deployed, at any given time they’ll house over 4,000 miles of containers, placed end to end. We’re talking like 540,000 Shipping Containers.

Remember that the radius of the Earth is 4000 miles.

Again… placed end to end, we’re talking about a train carrying ISBUs that would stretch from Dallas, TX to Alaska, or Detroit, MI to Paris, FR.  You could do a “Corten Clad” Great Wall of China and still have ISBUs left over.

And that’s just THIS fleet. Combine that with the massive number of vessels that are still operational and you have enough containers moving to keep us in Corten to cut up for generations, despite what “those trying to ride the green wave” will tell you.

I’ll have “Corten Pumpkins” to carve until I drop dead! 🙂

And when these monster ships are “ready for scrap” they’ll yield enough metal resources to create almost 200,000 Harley Davidson Motorcycles!

This is the stuff that dreams are made of! 🙂

Thank You, Daewoo!

(Didn’t mean for that to rhyme, but what the hey… I’ll take it!)  😉

Just so you know: I’m gonna start posting some of the really stupid, hate-filled email I’m getting. I’m going to include “the works”. You know, your email addy, your IP address, etc.

I want to make sure that MY people know who you are. Heaven forbid one of them should accidentally reproduce with you. It’d drag their family trees back into the primordial ooze.

You know who you are, and you’ve been warned. 😉

6 Responses to “Moving Metal Monsters…”

  1. Juan Walker March 10, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Hilarious how ignorant some folks are. I have a friend who works logistics for a major shipping carrier. His first assigment was locating and tracking the two MILLION containers his company had strewn around world ports that they knew they owned but weren’t sure where they were. Carry on.

  2. Dan Jones March 10, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    That was some great information. Keep up the great work. I love reading your blog. It is inspirational.

  3. Lisa March 10, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I don’t know what the naysayers’ problems are. They’re goofy. Check out the post at a site called Love and Trash today. They’re having a contest to design the best store front from a shipping container. The prizes aren’t anything to sneeze at either. This is the perfect venue for you to show off your stuff.

  4. john PARKER March 10, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    the scope of peoples minds are lacking when the large amount of information at ones fingertips is considered. i have the same problem with people here. everyone is a naysayer because they are to damn lazy to actually think about it. its just easier to say “you cant do that”

  5. APRIL ROSENBLOOM April 6, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    WAY TO GO. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. LOOKING FORWARD TO READING YOUR ‘LIL BOOK I JUST DOWNLOADED. WOULD LOOOOOVE TO HAVE CONTAINER HOME IN COSTA RICA. WORKING ON IT AND READING LIKE CRAZY. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ALL THE INFORMATION AND SCREW ALL THE PEOPLE THAT CHOOSE TO POO POO YOUR GREAT MIND AND CREATIVITY AND ECO FRIENDLY WAYS. THEY OBVIOUSLY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. GO GO GO, I SAY GO GO GO FOR IT!! THANKS AGAIN!!

    • Renaissance Ronin April 6, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

      Wow April!

      Talk about enthusiasm! You go, girl!

      But, you don’t have to SHOUT! 😉

      (You wouldn’t want to put me out of work, would ya?) 🙂

      Costa Rica is a perfect place for an ISBU home. Just do your homework, plan smart, build smart and then… spend the rest of your life happy and secure wrapped in that Corten Steel as those around you compare paths… while their houses slowly “fade”…

      Enjoy the book!

      Ronin

Comments are closed.