Lessons My Mother Taught Me

20 Jun

When I was growing up, my mother constantly reminded me that people have two sides;

A good side – a bad side…  A past and a future.

We must embrace both in people that we involve ourselves with.

Anyone who reads my blog knows that I don’t like being told what to do. Nowhere in my blog does it read that I’m the “Patron Saint of ANYTHING”. I’ve got my share of bumps and bruises and I’ve suffered the slings and arrows of life,  just like everyone else.

I learned early on that to be heard, first you must stand up.

This lesson, and the action it may inspire… makes you a target.

I don’t like the idea that someone with zero involvement in my life (or the life of my family) can subject me to it’s whims as they seek to profit (like parasites) on the toils of my back.

(…All the while paving a road into the abyss for my kin…)

As a result, I’m quite outspoken. This blog is just ONE of my voices.

Where I come from, the highest compliment that you can pay a person is to refer to them as “Down-to-Earth.”

I suspect that I am the least “down to earth” person most have ever met.

My layers have layers.

I multi-task in my sleep (when I’m fortunate enough to get some)…

I spend my share of time standing on the beach (it’s located a thousand yards from me), staring out to sea… watching for the incoming storm.

If we fail to prepare, we will fail the test.

And it is our families that will pay for our failures.

There are those who would silence me using innuendo, accusations and outright lies. It’s far easier to discredit the messenger than it is to argue the “common sense of a grass roots message”.

So, IF I sound militant…

… IF I sound like I’m “defying authority or acting in defiance altogether”…

… please understand that I’m trying to insure the safety of our families, as those who would “protect us” protect only their own profits…

… at our expense.

I am in mourning as families forced to evacuate both the Mississippi and Missouri River Valleys face even further peril.

The snow hasn’t even started melting yet. Consider the vast stretches of productive farmland under water, with yet more to come and consider how that will affect crop prices… and inflation.

I’m at a loss, trying to determine how to help families ravaged by tornadoes and hardship.

I’m saddened to tears over children all across Japan showing early symptoms of radiation poisoning.

Talk about “a horror revisited”, this time by an accident in their own country. It’s common knowledge that children are far more vulnerable to radiation poisoning.

In a few weeks… Japanese adults will begin to show the same symptoms.

There is so much turmoil, so much crisis to deal with during each day.

At the end of the day, I don’t care where I sleep, I care that my young son does… in safety.

If you read this blog… if you’ve been following along for the YEARS that I’ve been writing it… you know that I want that for YOUR family too, wherever you are.

2 Responses to “Lessons My Mother Taught Me”

  1. Kim June 20, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    I don’t know where the attack on you has come from and I haven’t been reading this blog for years. However, I spend a lot of time helping people myself and know that those who criticize the form that help comes in are often criticizing from their couch. There is incredible beauty in action and I am glad to know people like you are willing to help those in need. You seem to me to be someone who can take a lickin’ and keep on tickin’. Most negative things said say more about the people who say them than about the subject of their criticism. Best to you an yours and those in need you’re helping.

  2. Madrigorne June 21, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    Ronin,

    Haters gonna hate, don’t make their issues your problems. Remember that we know what you’re doing, and we know what you’re fighting for and why. Don’t let the bastards grind you down. Thank you for all that you do.

Comments are closed.