I’m Spitting in “the Church”…

18 Jul

As I sit here at the CAD station merrily working on another “Steel Sanctuary”…

I’ve gotten a few emails from families lately that want to build using ISBUs…

That’s nothing new.

I get hundreds of emails from families that want to use ISBUs.

But these guys… these guys… want to hide all that glorious Corten Steel from the neighbors. And what’s worse (I’m spitting and tossing salt over my shoulder as I type this…) they want to insulate on the INSIDE of the boxes.

Okay, so I can’t reach thru the monitor and smack them… at least not yet… I’ll get Al Gore right on it… after all, he “invented the internet”… right? πŸ˜‰

One family suggested that perhaps they could use cargo pallets to “conceal the boxes”…

Okay, stranger things have happened.

We’ve talked about shooting stucco onto them to “soften them up” visually…

IF you could find enough pallets, I suppose that you could do something like this:

From those crazies over at Inhabitat.com

And, if that’s not enough…

Again with the Inhabitat.com craziness…

If you really look at it, you can see HOW you could actually conceal all that Corten Goodness from those with an unsophisticated palate by using this ploy…

But could you live with yourself? Really?

I suspect that you’d go into “Corten Withdrawals” and within no time at all… you’d be out there scratching at those pallets, trying to re-establish your connection with that box that gave it’s life protecting your family.

Shame on you… πŸ˜‰

4 Responses to “I’m Spitting in “the Church”…”

  1. Madrigorne July 18, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Ronin – look at this bridge in Milwaukee.

    It’s a railroad tracks swing bridge left in the “open” position that is derelict.
    its about 4 corten steel units long, 3 high, and two wide.
    Imma see if I can get it – and have the industrial shipping port across the way (its on the shore) deliver the containers and stack them for me, and fire up my plasma cutter.
    Its a William Gibson idea in the making, and interstitial neighborhood for us weirdos with too much brain and not enough money… I bet I could put in a waterwheel, windmills, as well as solar panels to give me electricity, it’ll be post-modern industrial meets the child of Mad Max and Johnny Mnemonic. If the “swing” mechanism still works I will be able to park my car in there – and have my own moat too. TAKE THAT ZOMBIES!

    • Renaissance Ronin July 18, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      Too Cool…

      But what is this fascination with (gasp!) ZOMBIES? You watch a lot of late-night movies? πŸ˜‰

      If the bridge still operates, you could actually load flatbcars with containers and then use them to “transport the boxes” to the bridge. Then, you could improvise a “lifting crane” from the bridge framework to offload and set them in place…

      The waterwheel would probably only work during tidal activity. But, it’d LOOK cool…

      Any possibility that the local authorities would consider this a navigation hazard? They might want you to either “permit up” and get licenses to operate the bridge or even weld it in a fixed position. That might suck.

      But it you can “swing” it… (oh stop groaning… you saw it coming…) within no time, you could fish, right out your kitchen window! πŸ™‚

      Now THAT’S “Downhome living…” πŸ™‚

      Can Zombies swim? Or do they turn into chum? Something to think about… πŸ˜‰

      Keep me posted.

  2. di July 20, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    You may wish to shorten your pages and decrease your image size as your pages are impossible to download for the majority without adequate internet service. Thanks.

    • Renaissance Ronin July 20, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

      Are ya telling me to “Shut UP?” πŸ™‚

      As more and more people use readers and even (gasp!) their telephones to search the Internet, it’s changing how we communicate.

      (Heck, twitter has reduced everything to an almost unintelligible string of what… 128 characters? It’s even spawned a new “LANGUAGE” that most of us commoners have yet to figure out…)

      And, as more and more of us worry about bandwidth, it might just pay to start really thinking about how we “send the message.”

      But Oy… becoming less “wordy”? That’s gonna be hard… πŸ™‚

      Thanks.

Comments are closed.