It’s ALIVE… It’s ALIVE… :)

16 Mar

Recently, I let people know that we’re building our brand new  ISBU Manufacturing facility in the Northwest.

And, as we do that (we’re saddled with the monumental task of doing about 7 months of preparatory work in about 7 weeks… in the dead of winter, no less… ) many of you have asked me (via email) about the actual space required to build your own ISBU containers out… at home.

I thought I’d give you a sneak peak at one of our barns here, a lil spot we like to call the “Frankenstein Lab“.

In this “little” barn, we can prototype different ISBU layouts and push the boundaries… and even build out ISBUs, both 20′ and 40′ High cubes. In fact, we can squeeze a 48′ box in here if we have to;

The barn is naked!

Why do it this way?

It gives us the advantage of actually testing new materials while the production barns continue to “churn out the classics”!

Nobody likes a project that goes on and on… seemingly forever.

Don’t believe me? Ask your wife… okay.. ask MY wife. LOL!

The idea is to set your pilings in place and then fabricate your ISBUs while the concrete is curing. Double the work, in half the time… 

Yes. That means you can actually build these boxes out alongside your house, in your backyard or even (gasp) in a large garage.

When your ISBUs are modified to your satisfaction, you simply drag them up onto flatbeds and haul them to site, to be dropped down onto your pilings with something as simple as a pair of bucket tractors, or even a small septic tank crane system.

If you use your head, you’ll be surprised at what you can use to safely lift your boxes up and then set them on those steel plates that you’ve embedded in your piling faces, via j-bolts. LOL!

Next time, we’ll start talking about a pet project… one that we put on the back burner for a while, until we could find the right place for it.

Guess what? That place is VERY close to where I’m presently typing this update from…

Stay tuned.

4 Responses to “It’s ALIVE… It’s ALIVE… :)”

  1. Bayard Shipley March 29, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    I am truly happy I came across your web page. I am a student at Indiana University Purdue University Fort Wayne, Indiana. I am a senior in the Industrial Engineering Technology program. I am struggling right now in my research due to not knowing the market in the US for this type of construction. The majority of my project is trying to develop a manufacturing facility for converting ISBU’s. I am working on a plant layout for doing the heavy preparation work, and intend to include a stripping and painting process. I am also looking at interior roughing or full finish based on customer demand. I would greatly appreciate any assistance in understanding the market for this technology as this is the main sticking point for me right now.

    Thank you!

    • Renaissance Ronin March 29, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Well, since I’m currently establishing a manufacturing facility to produce ISBU housing, I may be able to assist you.

      Move the “Hazmet Strip and coatings” process to the top of your priority list.

      Watch your email.

      Ronin

  2. Bayard Shipley April 2, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    I’ll be looking forward to more insight from you. How important is location with regards to a national supply.

    I think I could come up with a specialized ISBU refurbisher with the hazmat stripping and coating processes for this project.

    • Renaissance Ronin April 2, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      Hi Bayard,

      Seriously, if you can resolve issues created by the HazMat processes, you’re golden.

      Rail lines go just about everywhere. So, it’s easier to process than you think. For example, one of the facilities I’m working with is tucked deep into a valley of about 40,000 people. We rail in, stockpile and then truck the boxes to site for conversion. It DOES add some cost to each box, but most of the transit is rail based and thus, more affordable. If you can build with a spur location close by, you’re absolutely styling! 🙂

      Contact me privately for some more intel on how this all happens. You can find the contact information under “Send Hate Mail Here”… in the sidebar.

Comments are closed.