I wanna live….

20 Jan

I’ve discovered that massive chest pains not only give you what my son calls “Ghoul Eyes” (as the broken blood vessels force them to fill with blood) they also give one pause to think about the future;

As  the New Year presses itself upon us, I recently found myself standing hip deep in the snow, looking up at the stars. I caught myself wishing upon the brightest one;

I asked for one wish – a wish to live forever…

A voice boomed out of the heavens;

WHAT? YOU WANT WHAT? ARE YOU NUTS?

I replied calmly (much accustomed to “booming voices” in the night… I’ve been married seemingly forever…) 😉

“NO. I’m NOT ‘nuts’. In fact, I can’t even feel ’em. I’m standing, half buried, in the snow. DUH!! Look, the cavalry ain’t coming. It’s every man for himself down here. I have much too much to do on the Earth. Have you seen the pile of Shipping Containers stacked up in my yard? I need to live forever.”

“SORRY CHARLIE. NOT GONNA HAPPEN! IT’S NOT KOSHER! I’M NOT PERMITTED TO GRANT ETERNAL LIFE!” the voice boomed.

“Look, you don’t have to yell. I have 20-20 hearing… How about this;

I want to live until the United States Congress and the United States Senate finally pull their heads out of their proverbial butts!”

A voice boomed from the heavens;

“YOU SNEAKY, CRAFTY S.O.B.! (sigh!) DONE.”

The Renaissance Ronin

