Corten Creations Rock!

24 Apr

Many of you know that I’m basically on the road lately, 24/7.

This is due to the alleged occurrence of “Spring”. Supposedly, in some parts of the United States, “Spring” has sprung. I’ve yet to witness it, but it’s alleged to be happening. Somewhere. Someplace. But, I doubt it. 🙂

While I was in Colorado recently, playing in the “Spring Blizzards”…

I recalled a great piece of Corten Artwork that they’d commissioned in Denver. Incredibly enough, Denver is an art town. I know that most of us think about football or livestock when we think “Denver”, but some pretty cool stuff happens there. Guys like Indie artist John Commons and Ben Goldberg hail from there.  Sure, people think about John Denver, but he wasn’t really FROM Denver…

Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr., known professionally as John Denver was from Roswell, NM and he lived out most of his days in Aspen Colorado, when he wasn’t touring or playing in his airplanes. Regrettably, one of them eventually killed him. The fact that he was from Roswell explained a lot to any of us who actually knew him.  The dude was “crazier than a bag fulla cats”, but he was a ton of fun to be around… 😉

But, back to business…

I left Colorado on Saturday when the sun finally peeked out. If I’d stayed another day, I’d still be trapped there, as the area is getting hammered by heavy snowfall again. It’s a double-edged sword, I suppose. I LOVE the company I was keeping, the developing projects are incredible and the foals were cuter than you can imagine… but (sigh!) duty calls.  😦

Now, when I think about Denver, I don’t immediately think about ISBUs. I think about the “days of my youth” when we camped out at the Brown Palace, while we were in town playing “Rock and Roll” or “Dirty Blues” with cats like Dan Fogelberg in recording studios.

Want a cool Denver Weekend? Start HERE.

Want a cool Denver Weekend? Start HERE.

NOW, now, after many years of “growing old” – I’m not thinking about the caress of a guitar neck in the “Mile High City”…

… unless I’m staying in The Beatles Suite;

Beatles-Suite

Now, when I think about Denver, I think about this;

3

Do you have ISBUs just burning a hole in your pocket?

Wanna really impress your neighbors?

Want to build the funkiest “Tiny House” ever?

(I bet my buddy Michael Janzen would!)

Want to disguise that secret stairway down to your underground bunker?

Here ya go! 🙂

But, it will take some heavy lifting…

9

I may just have to try my hand at this.

I mean, I HAVE a secret bunker. It HAS a secret door that needs disguising!

(I bet you’re asking yourself if I’m serious…)

IF I had a secret bunker, do you really think I’d tell YOU? Nope.

(‘Cuz then it wouldn’t be a “secret”…)

Oh, stop rolling your eyes. You saw it coming.

And if you knuckleheads from “Doomsday Preppers” are curious about this, DON’T CALL ME. I’ll just laugh at you and hang up. 😉

Actually, if I was going to build a “secret staircase” down to a “secret bunker” using ISBUs, I’d do it like this;

7

That way, I could gaze on it fondly and do my favorite “Charlton Heston – Planet of the Apes” impression;

You know the one – where he sees the Statue of Liberty half-buried in the sand…

“You blew it all up! You really did it! D@mn You!  #%$@ D@mn you all to hell!”

Okay, enough chit-chat. I just got home for a few days and I have some serious “playing with my kid stuff” to do before I gotta get ready for my next road trip!

Next stop, SEATTLE! 🙂

RR Avatar

 

