Some Great ISBU Memories

20 Jan

As we begin the New Year, I thought it might be fun to look back at some of the ISBU highlights of the last few years.

I’d thought to kick this series off in the last week of January (as I’ll be traveling extensively and it’d be a great time to do it)  but one of my pals sent me an email reminding me of this home. So, in honor of Ryan, we’ll run this one first.

Without further adieu, I give you the first ISBU – shipping container – home built in New York City.

Now, there have been some “demonstrator units” hauled in and dropped in parking lots and parks for exhibition (I know this to be true as I have personally participated in this process), but to my knowledge, this was the very first permanent, permitted ISBU home in NYC proper.

Built in Brooklyn by Cornell graduate Michele Bertomen (an architect) and David Boyle (a building  contractor),  I do remember  all the hardships the builders faced as they tried to navigate the perils of stupidity in NYC as Code Enforcement tried to make their lives miserable.  The home was finally completed in 2012. I personally interacted with Michele at NYIT  (New York Institute of Technology) where she was a Professor of Architecture and I was saddened to learn that Michele has since passed away, but I remind readers and students that she leaves a Corten legacy behind to inspire others.

You can read more about Michele and David and the incredible home they built together, HERE.

RR Avatar

3 Responses to “Some Great ISBU Memories”

  1. Kim Demer January 20, 2014 at 6:30 pm #

    Where can I go to take a look at one of these ISBU/homes? I bought the ebook and would love to see one. Although I live in SC, I can travel.

    • Renaissance Ronin January 22, 2014 at 4:10 am #

      Kim, we get asked this all the time. There are a couple of residential projects in Atlanta that are “drive-bys”. There isn’t really an East Coast “home tour” that allows people unknown to the owners to just show up and inspect an ISBU home. It’s possible to build bridges to achieve that with a little more input. 😉

      • Janet Brown February 6, 2014 at 11:19 am #

        Hello Kim and RR. The Keap St. ship has a listing on airbnb. You can also take a look on the “Brooklyn Shipping Container House” on Facebook. Enjoyed your piece on the house, RR.

Comments are closed.