Dude, you got HAY in my POOL!

27 Jun

As the temperature rises here in the ‘Root…

Thoughts wander to the water. No, I’m not talking about the water in our fields.

2014-06-04 17.36.54

Well, I AM talking about redirecting some of it. We have fields of it. We’d rather have fields of grass.

HEY! Big Guy! You listening up there? Enough with the wet stuff. We don’t WANT any more of it! Capische?

There are kids jumping into the rivers and creeks already. But, not I. Where does that water come from?

It’s coming from the local mountains as snow melt.

So, what are these young fools jumping into?

12 degrees… Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr! LOL!

Now, I like water as much as the next person. I bathe ever other Saturday, just like most folks. But, I’m not gonna do it with snow run-off. I may be crazy, but I haven’t got a death wish.

Nay, not a one.

But, I have hay. LOTS of hay. Big giant 4x4x8 bales of oat hay left over from last year.

(No, I don’t use Alfalfa hay for this. THAT would be stupid.) 😉

And, I have a tarp. In fact, we keep the mother of all tarps to cover that leftover hay with, so the snow doesn’t turn it into garbage.

So, take hay…. tarps… run-off snow melt and what do you get?

You get this…

Cowboy Pool Party

Or this:

Cowboy Pool Party3Or this;

Cowboy Pool Party2It’s really pretty simple. And, the left over hay can get tossed on your compost pile when you’re done.

Now, people will start a rant about “icky water”. Just go to some big box store and buy a pool pump/filter. Add some chlorine or better yet, use SALT to keep your water  clear.  We use a salt system that works terrifically and there’s no chlorine burn.

Remember that SALT is still a chemical. In day of old, invaders salted neighboring villages fields, to render their land useless for farming. So, at the end of the season, you can’t just drain the water out into your pasture or lawn area.

However, saltwater has a lower freezing point that “regular” water and your pool will resist freezing for much longer. In Montana, it’ll still freeze eventually… but it’ll take a while. We use solar hot water heater panels to pump the water thru to extend the “pool season”.

If you live in a city or town, you may be able to drain your pool into a storm drain when your pool season comes to an end.

In Arizona and New Mexico, I know people who build hay pools and then they use the saltwater to drain into their “rock lawns” (I still can’t quite stomach a “rock lawn” in the front of my house. Ewww!) to actually discourage weed and grass growth.

And please don’t start spewing “water conservation horrors” at me. I fully understand WHY they use rock landscaping in arid climates.  I just don’t LIKE it.

For the record… when they decided what days of the week we could wash our cars or water our lawns in California… I saw the handwriting on the wall (and I’m not even talking about all the damned graffiti) and I left.  LOL!

The point is that if you put your mind to it, you can have a pool for pennies. All you need is a little common sense and a few strong backs.

Until next time…

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Dude, you got HAY in my POOL!”

  1. Steve Spence June 27, 2014 at 9:13 am #

    Pickup truck beds make good portable pools as well.

Comments are closed.