Surf’s UP! Where’s that Shack?

2 Dec

One of our readers forwarded this video to me and asked for an opinion.

Derek “Deek” Diedricksen of gives us a tour of a Shipping Container Surf Shack built and designed by Hartman Kable. Located south of Seattle, this container home is ultra-modern and employs some very clever transforming and space saving techniques.

Okay, time for the critiques;

I really hated the music score. Bleah! I nearly turned off the video a few ties just to get away from it. 🙂

I don’t see the GEORGE LUCAS connection at all (that some people have implied). George would have been more dramatic (that’s a good thing).

Not big on his choice of particle board/melamine cabinetry because it just doesn’t last. Save your money and use real WOOD cabinets and doors. You may hate me now, but you’ll love me later…

I understand that the builder was going for “ultra modern chic” but in my view, he took it a little bit too far. It’s too sterile. It looks like an art gallery or museum room. It needs COLOR!  I felt like I was looking at a Dental office. I never got that “warm fuzzy feeling” a home requires.

I kept hearing “OCD” screaming in the background.

I was relieved to see that the builder used “aluminum pipe” to simulate… say it with me… aluminum pipe. LOL!

I got a good chuckle out of how proud he was of that bar stock. LOL!

On a One to Ten, Ten being best, I give this little beach-side tiny house an 8.  Great use of space, lots of coolness (if you can get past the white and the fake wood) and well executed.

Next!

RR Avatar

